Download Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Todd C. Soesbe joined the faculty at the Department of Radiology in July of 2015. He received his Bachelors degree in Physics from Clark University (Worcester, Massachusetts) in 1993. While at Clark, Dr. Soesbe performed several years of undergraduate research with a joint Physics and Chemistry research group lead by Dr. Christopher Landee and Dr. Mark Turnbull. This group designed and synthesized complexes containing transition metals chelated to organic ligands in order to investigate new forms of molecular magnetism, specifically bi-metallic ferrimagnetic materials.

After Clark University, Dr. Soesbe entered Physics graduate school at the University of Texas at Austin in 1997 where he received his Masters in Applied Physics degree in 2000. While at UT Austin, Dr. Soesbe worked with Dr. Karol Lang of the High Energy Physics department on the MINOS project (Main Injector Neutrino Oscillation Search) taking place at Fermilab National Laboratory (Batavia, Illinois). While performing neutrino detector research at UT Austin, Dr. Soesbe became very interested in applying novel high energy physics detector technologies to medical imaging, specifically high-pressure xenon proportional counters for large-volume gamma ray detection in SPECT applications.

From 2000 to 2002, Dr. Soesbe worked for the Optical Networking Division of Lucent Technologies (Richardson, Texas) where he helped develop and test optically based communication technologies for national and global medical data networking. In 2002, Dr. Soesbe returned to graduate school at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas where he received his Ph.D. in Radiological Sciences in 2007. His graduate research at UT Southwestern, under the guidance of Dr. Peter Antich, focused on the design and development of a small animal SPECT detector that used micro-columnar CsI(Tl) crystals and an electron-multiplying CCD camera for gamma ray detection with photon counting. Dr. Soesbe received a Young Investigator Award for this research from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine in 2007.

Dr. Soesbe spent his post-doctoral years at the Advanced Imaging Research Center where his research involved creating new exogenous contrast agents for molecular imaging applications using MRI. Specifically, for the early detection and diagnosis of cancer. These agents included diamagnetic and paramagnetic chemical exchange saturation transfer agents (DIACEST and PARACEST, respectively), paramagnetic T2 exchange contrast agents, and liposome nanoparticles containing proton shifting agents such as TmDOTMA. He was also involved in the design and fabrication of surface and volume coils for pre-clinical and clinical MRI studies as well as software development for imaging protocols and data analysis.

Dr. Soesbe’s current research at the Departmtent of Radiology involves clinical applications of spectral CT technologies including dual-energy, dual-detector, and photon-counting modalities.


Clark University (1993), Physics
Graduate School
University of Texas at Austin (2000)
Graduate School
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2007)

Research Interest

  • Clinical Spectral CT methods and applications
  • In vivo imaging of CEST and PARACEST MR contrast agents
  • In vivo imaging of liposomal agents using MR
  • MR probe design and construction
  • Preclinical SPECT detector design and construction


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Phantom Validation of Spectral Detector Computed Tomography-Derived Virtual Monoenergetic, Virtual Noncontrast, and Iodine Quantification Images.
Ananthakrishnan L, Duan X, Rajiah P, Soesbe TC, Lewis MA, Xi Y, Fielding JR, Lenkinski RE, Leyendecker JR, Abbara S J Comput Assist Tomogr 2018 Jun

Honors & Awards

  • The European Society of Radiology
    Best Scientific Paper Presentation Award (2019)
  • The Society of Abdominal Radiology
    Best Hot Topics in GI Scientific Paper Award (2019)
  • The Society of Computed Body Tomography & Magnetic Resonance
    Hounsfield Award (2018)
  • The Society of Computed Body Tomography & Magnetic Resonance
    Hounsfield Award (2017)
  • The Society of Computed Body Tomography & Magnetic Resonance
    Hounsfield Award (2016)
  • The American Association of Physicists in Medicine
    Young Investigator Award (2007)
  • Department of Radiology, UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Fellowship (2005)
  • Department of Physics, Clark University
    Honors in Physics (1993)
  • Clark University
    Dean's List (1990)
  • Clark University
    Alumni & Friends Scholarship (1989)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • The Society of Abdominal Radiology (SAR) (2017)
  • The Society of Computed Body Tomography and Magnetic Resonance (SCBT-MR) (2016)
  • American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)
  • International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM)
  • Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
  • Society of Computed Body Tomography & Magnetic Resonance (SCBTMR)
  • Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI)