Lauren Phillips, M.D., is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She also serves as the Neurology Residency Program Director. 

Dr. Phillips earned her medical degree at University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and she completed her neurology residency and neuromuscular medicine fellowship at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She is certified in Neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and has subspecialty certification in Neuromuscular Medicine. She is also certified in Autonomic Disorders by the United Council for Neurological Subspecialties and serves on the Autonomic Disorders Examination Committee.

Her clinical interests include neuropathies, myasthenia gravis, myopathies, and autonomic disorders. She performs nerve conduction studies (NCS), electromyography (EMG), and autonomic function tests. She has been involved in several clinical trials.

Her other primary interest is medical education and mentorship. Her initial roles were in medical student education, as co-director of the Brain & Behavior course and the Neurology clerkship. She has been the Neurology Residency Program Director since 2018, and she is proud to work with such wonderful residents, fellows, and teaching faculty.

Dr. Phillips is a member of the American Academy of Neurology and the American Autonomic Society.


Medical School
UT Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine (2008)
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2009), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012), Neurology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2014), Neuromuscular Disease

Research Interest

  • Autonomic Disorders
  • Myasthenia Gravis
  • Myopathy
  • Peripheral Neuropathy


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Ganglionic Acetylcholine Receptor Antibodies in Postural Tachycardia Syndrome.
Bryarly M, Raj SR, Phillips L, Hynan LS, Okamoto LE, Arnold AC, Paranjape SY, Vernino M, Black BK, Vernino S, Neurol Clin Pract 2021 Aug 11 4 e397-e401
A comparison of health-related quality of life in autonomic disorders: postural tachycardia syndrome versus vasovagal syncope.
Hall J, Bourne KM, Sheldon RS, Vernino S, Raj V, Ng J, Okamoto LE, Arnold AC, Bryarly M, Phillips L, Paranjape SY, Raj SR, Clin Auton Res 2021 Jun 31 3 433-441
Usefulness of Blood Pressure Variability Indices Derived From 24-Hour Ambulatory Blood Pressure Monitoring in Detecting Autonomic Failure.
Lodhi HA, Peri-Okonny PA, Schesing K, Phelps K, Ngo C, Evans H, Arbique D, Price AL, Vernino S, Phillips L, Mitchell JH, Smith SA, Yano Y, Das SR, Wang T, Vongpatanasin W, J Am Heart Assoc 2019 Apr 8 7 e010161
Spinal nerve tolerance to single-session stereotactic ablative radiotherapy (SAbR).
Hrycushko B, van der Kogel AJ, Phillips L, Folkert M, Sayre JW, Vernino S, Hassan-Rezaeian N, Foster RD, Yamada Y, Timmerman R, Medin PM, Int. J. Radiat. Oncol. Biol. Phys. 2019 Apr
Skeletal Muscle Channelopathies.
Phillips L, Trivedi JR Neurotherapeutics 2018 Oct
Impaired glycogen breakdown and synthesis in phosphoglucomutase 1 deficiency.
Preisler N, Cohen J, Vissing CR, Madsen KL, Heinicke K, Sharp LJ, Phillips L, Romain N, Park SY, Newby M, Wyrick P, Mancias P, Galbo H, Vissing J, Haller RG Mol. Genet. Metab. 2017 Aug
MR imaging of skeletal muscle signal alterations: Systematic approach to evaluation.
Kumar Y, Wadhwa V, Phillips L, Pezeshk P, Chhabra A Eur J Radiol 2016 May 85 5 922-35
Hereditary and Acquired Polyneuropathy Conditions of the Peripheral Nerves: Clinical Considerations and MR Neurography Imaging.
Trivedi JR, Phillips L, Chhabra A Semin Musculoskelet Radiol 2015 Apr 19 2 130-6

Honors & Awards

  • Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society
    Elected by UT Southwestern Medical School Class of 2020 (2019)
  • Hal Unwin Clinical Excellence Award
    For clinical excellence in patient care, publications, and presentations at national meetings; UT Southwestern (2012)
  • Steve Damm Memorial Award
    For excellence in patient management, clinical care, compassion, and advocacy for patients and their families; UT Southwestern (2012)
  • Chief Resident
    UT Southwestern Neurology Residency Program (2011-2012)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Neurology (2009)
  • American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (2015-2018)
  • American Autonomic Society (2014)