Download Curriculum Vitae

Kevin Williams, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor with Tenure at UT Southwestern Medical Center and a member of the Center for Hypothalamic Research.

Dr. Williams holds a bachelor's degree in biology from the University of Texas at Dallas, where he graduated cum laude. He earned his doctorate in neuroscience at Tulane University in Louisiana. He completed a postdoctoral fellowship in hypothalamic research under Dr. Joel Elmquist at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Dr. Williams joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2009.


University of Texas at Dallas (1999), Biology
Graduate School
Tulane University of Louisiana (2006), Cognition and Neuroscience

Research Interest

  • Central Autonomic Control
  • Diabetes and Glucose Homeostasis
  • Electrophysiology
  • Exercise
  • Neurophysiology
  • Obesity and Body Weight Homeostasis
  • Synaptic Transmission


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Acute effects of zinc and insulin on arcuate anorexigenic proopiomelanocortin neurons.
He Z, Gao Y, Lieu L, Afrin S, Guo H, Williams KW Br. J. Pharmacol. 2018 Dec
Phosphoinositide 3-Kinase Is Integral for the Acute Activity of Leptin and Insulin in Male Arcuate NPY/AgRP Neurons.
Huang Y, He Z, Gao Y, Lieu L, Yao T, Sun J, Liu T, Javadi C, Box M, Afrin S, Guo H, Williams KW J Endocr Soc 2018 Jun 2 6 518-532

Honors & Awards

  • Timothy J. Bartness Award
    This endowed award honors Dr. Timothy J. Bartness who was a Regent's Professor of Biology at Georgia State University and an eminent researcher of the neural control of adipose tissue, obesity and ingestive behaviour. He was a past-president of Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (2008-2009) and an ardent champion of early career investigators. In keeping with his tireless advocacy for junior scientists and dedication to mentorship, this award is given for the best oral presentation at the annual meeting by a junior faculty member. Members of SSIB. (2019-2019)
  • The Novo Nordisk – Helmholz Young Investigator Diabetes Award (HeIdi Award) Nominee
    This high impact conference brings together international top leaders in the field of diabetes to facilitate the identification of, and potential solutions to, the preeminent scientific challenges facing the prevention and treatment of type 2 diabetes. The conference features a focus on the brain in control of metabolism, and two award presentations: the Helmholtz Diabetes Lecture, in recognition of the lifetime achievements of a senior leader in the field, and the Novo Nordisk - Helmholtz Young Investigator in Diabetes (HeIDi) Award, in recognition of a rising star. (2015-2015)
  • Mentored Research Scientist Development Award
    NIH-NIDDK (087780) (2010)
  • Post-Doctoral Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award
    NIH-NIDDK (DK077487) (2006)
  • Senior Vice President's award for excellence in research and presentation by a graduate student
    Tulane University - research days (2004)
  • B.S. awarded with cum laude
    The University of Texas at Dallas (1999)
  • A.S. awarded with magna cum laude
    Collin County Community College (1997)
  • UTD Redman scholars program recipient
    Redman Foundation Scholarship (1997)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Diabetes Association (2012)
  • American Heart Association (2012)
  • Experimental Biology (2021)
  • Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (2017)
  • The Endocrine Society (2011)
  • The Obesity Society (2012)
  • The Society for Neuroscience (2002)