Dr. Johnson is currently Associate Professor of Pediatric Otolaryngology of the Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. He regularly performs surgeries at Children's Health. He is the Medical Director for the Children's Health Airway Management Program. He is also director the Pediatric Flexible Endoscopic Swallowing (FEES)/ and Pediatric Voice Clinic at Children's Medical Center Dallas. Dr. Johnson has specialized training in pediatric otolaryngology, and his practice focuses on those patients. He has a particular interest in pediatric aerodigestive disorders such as subglottic stenosis, vocal cord paralysis, chronic hoarseness, aspiration, and feeding problems. Dr. Johnson is a native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, attended Central High School of Philadelphia, Lincoln University of Pennsylvania, and Drexel University School of Medicine (formerly MCP-Hahnemann School of Medicine). He completed his residency in Otolaryngology at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He completed his Pediatric Otolaryngology Fellowship at the Cincinnati Childrens Hospital Medical Center in Cincinnati, Ohio. He is the author of numerous publications and regularly presents at national meetings. He also has a keen interest in public health and obtained a Master’s of Public Health from Johns Hopkins University


Medical School
MCP Hahnemann School of Medicine (1999)
Baylor College of Medicine (2000), General Surgery
Baylor College of Medicine (2004), Otolaryngology
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center (2006), Pediatric Otolaryngology
Other Post Graduate Training
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (2008)
Graduate School
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (2008)

Research Interest

  • Pediatric Airway Disorders
  • Pediatric Obstructive Sleep Apnea
  • Pediatric Tracheostomy
  • Quality and Safety


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Sutureless vs sutured posterior costal cartilage grafting in laryngotracheal reconstruction in children.
McClay JE, Brewer J, Johnson R Arch. Otolaryngol. Head Neck Surg. 2011 Dec 137 12 1276-9
Cricotracheal Resection in children under 2 years old
Johnson RF, Rutter MJ, Cotton RT, Vijayasekeran S, White DR. Ann Otol Rhinol Laryngol February 2008 117(2) 110-2
Salivary gland surgery for chronic pulmonary aspiration in children
Vijayasekeran S, Unal F, Schraff SA, Johnson RF,. International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology January 2007 71 (1) 199-23
Contemporary diagnosis and management of peritonsillar abscess
Johnson RF, Stewart MG Current Opinions in Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery June 2005 June (13) 157-60
Outcomes research in pediatric otolaryngology
Johnson RF, Stewart MG ORL Journal Otorhinolaryngology Rel Spec July 2004 66 (4) 221-64
Chronic sinusitis: symptoms versus CT scan findings
Stewart MG, Johnson RF Current Opinions of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery February 2004 12 (1) 27-9

Honors & Awards

  • Senior Examiner
    American Board of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (2020-2023)
  • D Magazine Best Doctors
    Let's make Dallas even better (2010-2019)
  • Herbert Silverstein Otology/Neurotology Research Award
    Research grant to study genetic mutations in patients with hearing loss (2005-2005)
  • J. Charles Dickson Award for Outstanding Research
    Awarded for research in Peritonsillar abscess treatment (2003-2003)
  • Dallas Otology Foundation for Resident Research
    Awarded for research in Peritonsillar abscess treatment (2002-2002)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Broncho-Esophagological Association (2018)
  • Triological Society (2017)
  • American College of Surgeons (2012)
  • American Society of Pediatric Otolarygology (2012)
  • National Medical Association (2012)
  • American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (2004)