Professor of Pathology and holder of the Arthur J Gill Professorship in Pathology. He is the Chief of Clinical Pathology and Clinical Chemistry Director. He directs the Clinical Chemistry Fellowship at UT Southwestern and the Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Management Residency Rotations. He is the Medical Director for Clinical Chemistry at Parkland Hospital and Health System and Point of Care testing Director at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

He obtained his Doctoral degree from King’s College School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of London (United Kingdom), his Master degree in Clinical Biochemistry from the University of Leeds (United Kingdom) and his Bachelor’s degree in Biochemistry from the University of Westminster (United Kingdom). He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry, a Fellow of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry, a Chartered Scientist, and a Fallow of the Institute of Biomedical Science.

He is an active Clinical Chemist, chairs several hospital-based committees, such as Point-of-Care testing and campus Critical Values Working Group. He severed on the Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guidelines task force and co-authored the 2016 Society Guidelines on Hormonal Replacement in Hypopituitarism in Adults. He served as a Director of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry from 2012 to 2016, and is the current Chair of the Texas-Section of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. He served on Lab Medicine editorial board.

In addition to his active research on molecular heterogeneity of prolactin, the role of cytokines and biomarkers of inflammation in sepsis with research support on developing a clinical decision support system for sepsis, he is an active investigator of pre-analytical factors influencing laboratory results with CDC-funded project on reduction of sample haemolysis in the emergency department. Recently, in collaboration with UTD, via a BARDA-funded project he is developing a sweat-based wearable sensor for detection of inflammation and endocrine biomarkers.

He has mentored > 15 doctoral and post-doctoral levels trainees, he has authored or co-authored > 120 manuscripts, book chapters, and proceedings. He won several teaching awards, outstanding speaker awards, as well as Clinical Chemist Recognition awards and distinguished abstracts awards.


Graduate School
University of Leeds (1985), Biochemistry
Undergraduate School
University of Westminster (1986)
Graduate School
University of London - King's College (1989), Biochemistry

Research Interest

  • Cytokines in heatstroke, trauma, inflammation, and meningitis
  • Measurement of Biomarkers in Sweat
  • Molecular Heterogeneity of Prolactin
  • Neuroendocrinology of inflammation


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Honors & Awards

  • Distinguished Abstract Award (Electrochemical detection of parathyroid hormone as a point-of-care testing device towards clinical application)
    AACC National Academy (2018)
  • Distinguished Abstract Award (The implementation of the high sensitivity Troponin T (hs-TnT) generation five assays at a large teaching county hospital. A multi-specialty effort)
    AACC National Academy (2018)
  • The Resident Teaching Award
    UTSW Pathology (2017)
  • Outstanding Speaker Award
    AACC (2016)
  • Clinical Chemist Recognition Award
    AACC (2012)
  • AACC Outstanding Speaker Award
  • AACC Clinical Chemist Recognition Award
  • AACC Outstanding Speaker Award
  • Vernie A. Stembridge Resident Teaching Award
    UT Southwestern Medical Center (2008)
  • AACC Outstanding Speaker Award
  • AACC Clinical Chemist Recognition Award
  • AACC Outstanding Speaker Award
  • AACC Clinical Chemist Recognition Award

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (2003)
  • Institute of Biomedical Science (U.K.) (2002)
  • American Association for Clinical Chemistry (1998)
  • Society for Endocrinology (U.K.) (1990)
  • Association of Clinical Biochemists (U.K.) (1985)