Suzanne Dakil, M.D., is an Assistant Professor in The Department of Pediatrics at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Board certified by the American Board of Pediatrics in child abuse pediatrics, she joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2010. 

Dr. Dakil earned her medical degree at the University of Louisville in 2005. She then completed a residency in pediatrics followed by a fellowship in general pediatrics/child abuse at UT Southwestern.

Her research focuses on screening for domestic human sex trafficking, evaluating bone fractures in osteopenic patients, and improving the recognition of abuse in infants.


Medical School
University of Louisville School of Medicine (2005)
UT Southwestern/Children's Medical Center (2008), Pediatrics
UT Southwestern/Children's Medical Center (2010), Pediatrics

Research Interest

  • Evaluation of bone fractures in osteopenic patients
  • Improving recognition of abuse in infants
  • Screening for domestic human sex trafficking


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Physical abuse in U.S. children: Risk factors and deficiencies in referrals to support services.
Dakil SR, Cox M, Lin H, Flores G Journal of Aggression, Maltreatment & Trauma 2012 Jul 21 5 555-569
Recidivism in the child protection system: identifying children at greatest risk of reabuse among those remaining in the home.
Dakil SR, Sakai C, Lin H, Flores G Arch Pediatr Adolesc Med 2011 Nov 165 11 1006-12
Racial and ethnic disparities in physical abuse reporting and child protective services interventions in the United States.
Dakil SR, Cox M, Lin H, Flores G J Natl Med Assoc 2011 Sep-Oct 103 9-10 926-31

Honors & Awards

  • Darwin Adams Award
    North and Northwest Cook County Children's Advocacy Center (2013)
  • Young Investigator's Award
    American Pediatric Society (2010)
  • Fellow's Travel Grant
    Pediatric Academic Society (2009-2010)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Pediatrics, Fellow (2008)
  • American Pediatric Association (2008-2011)
  • Ray Helfer Society, Scholar Member (2010)