Dr. Angela Price is a clinical cardiologist and hypertension specialist who joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2012.  She is originally from Longview, Texas and received her undergraduate training from Baylor University in Waco where she graduated magna cum laude.  She attended medical school at UT Southwestern, where she also completed her Internal Medicine residency and Cardiovascular Disease fellowship.  Dr. Price also completed an additional year of subspecialty training in hypertension at UT Southwestern.  Her areas of interest include general cardiology as well as difficult or refractory hypertension and early-onset hypertension.


Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical School (2005)
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2008), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012), Cardiovascular Disease
Other Post Graduate Training
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012), Hypertension

Research Interest

  • Appropriateness criteria for transthoracic echocardiography
  • Flow mediated dilation (FMD)
  • Lipotoxicity
  • Mechanisms of endothelial dysfunction in health and disease
  • Nitric oxide


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Spironolactone prevents chlorthalidone-induced sympathetic activation and insulin resistance in hypertensive patients.
Raheja P, Price A, Wang Z, Arbique D, Adams-Huet B, Auchus RJ, Vongpatanasin W Hypertension 2012 Aug 60 2 319-25
Noninvasive quantification of pancreatic fat in humans.
Lingvay I, Esser V, Legendre JL, Price AL, Wertz KM, Adams-Huet B, Zhang S, Unger RH, Szczepaniak LS J. Clin. Endocrinol. Metab. 2009 Oct 94 10 4070-6

Honors & Awards

  • TACC Abstract Competition, 3rd Place
    Abstract Competition for Cardiology fellows in Texas hosted by the Texas Chapter of the American College of Cardiology (2012)
  • Phi Beta Kappa
    National Honor Society for undergraduate students (2000)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Society of Hypertension (2012)
  • American College of Cardiology (2009)
  • American Heart Association (2009)
  • Dallas County Medical Society (2008)
  • Texas Medical Association (2008)