RAYMOND L. FOWLER, M.D., FACEP, FAEMS, is Chief of the Division of Emergency Medical Services in the Department of Emergency Medicine, where he is Professor of Emergency Medicine and Emergency Medical Services.

He has been involved in EMS as a leading educator, author, medical director, and political advocate for over four decades, being widely-regarded as an outstanding lecturer and a public leader in the field of EMS. He served as President of the Georgia College of Emergency Physicians and as a perennial member (since 1980) of the State of Georgia EMS Advisory Council.  He was a founding member of the National Association of EMS Physicians, the subspecialty organization for Emergency Medical Services, where he served as the association's second elected President.  He was also co-founder and senior faculty member of the National EMS Medical Director's Course for 25 years.

In addition to his work in EMS, Dr. Fowler has been a practicing emergency physician for over 40 years, during which time he has also served as an emergency department medical director and manager. Today, he remains one of the most popular and respected emergency physicians of his generation and a legendary leader in medical education and clinical quality improvement efforts.

In October 2013 Dr. Fowler became the first physician at UT Southwestern to successfully challenge the new subspecialty boards in Emergency Medical Services Medicine, offered under the auspices of the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

Internet websites hosting Dr. Fowler's work include:


Medical School
Medical College of Georgia (1976)
Eugene Talmadge Memorial Hospital (1978), General Surgery

Research Interest

  • Acute Coronary Syndrome
  • Cardiac Arrest
  • Hemorrhagic Shock
  • Quality Assurance in EMS
  • Traumatic Brain Injury


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Fluid resuscitation of the patient with major trauma.
Fowler R, Pepe PE Curr Opin Anaesthesiol 2002 Apr 15 2 173-8
Shock evaluation and management
Fowler RL, Pepe PE, Lewis RJ In: Basic Trauma Life Support, Campbell JE (Ed) 2000 4th ed 95-106

Honors & Awards

  • American College of Emergency Physicians Lifetime Achievement Award in Emergency Medical Services
    ACEP (2012)
  • National Top Ten EMS Innovator Award
    Journal of Emergency Medical Services and Physiocontrol (2010)
  • Keith Neely Award for Outstanding Service to the National Association of EMS Physicians
    National Association of EMS Physicians (2005)
  • Texas State EMS Medical Director of the Year
    Texas Department of State Health Services (2005)
  • John B. O'Neal Award for Georgia EMS Pioneer Award
    Georgia State EMS Services (2003)
  • Michael Copass Award for Outstanding Achievement in EMS
    U.S. Metropolitan EMS Medical Directors (2003)
  • Outstanding Service Award
    American Heart Association (1995)
  • Ronald D Stewart Award for Outstanding National Service to EMS
    Awarded by the National Association of EMS Physicians (1991)
  • Phi Beta Kappa
    University of Georgia (1973)
  • Phi Kappa Phi
    University of Georgia (1973)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Dallas County Medical Society (2005)
  • Texas College of Emergency Physicians (2001)
  • National Association of EMS Physicians (1984)
  • State of Georgia EMS Medical Directors Council (1981)
  • American College of Emergency Physicians (1980)
  • Georgia College of Emergency Physicians (1980)