Jaya Trivedi, M.D., is Professor & Vice Chair for Ambulatory Operations and External Relations in the Department of Neurology at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She joined UT Southwestern Department of Neurology in 2020.

Dr. Trivedi earned her medical degree at Smt. N.H.L. Municipal Medical College in India. She completed internal medicine residencies at Sheth K.M. School of P.G. Medicine & Research in India and at Overlook Hospital in New Jersey before joining UT Southwestern, where she completed a residency in neurology and a fellowship in neuromuscular medicine.

She is certified in Neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and has subspecialty certification in Neuromuscular Medicine and Clinical Neurophysiology.

Her clinical interests include skeletal muscle channelopathies, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, myasthenia gravis, neuropathies, and myopathies.  She has been involved in several clinical trials and was site PI for some of the landmark trials in non-dystrophic myotonia and periodic paralysis. She serves as co-PI of the NIH-funded Wellstone Training Core grant, the goal of which is to recruit, train, and maintain the next generation of transformative investigators focused on addressing the challenges of muscular dystrophy.  

She has authored and co-authored publications, reviews, and book chapters. Some of her notable publications include the natural history study in non-dystrophic myotonia and the role of denture cream in neurological disease. The denture cream study garnered significant national attention leading to an interview by NBC which was aired on “Good Morning America”.

She has mentored numerous residents and fellows at UT Southwestern Medical Center, many of whom have pursued academic careers. She has twice been honored with the prestigious Trephined Cranium Neurology Resident Teaching award. Besides teaching residents and fellows, she organizes and directs annual CME conferences such as the Brain Summit and Carrell-Krusen Neuromuscular symposium for the local and national neurology community, respectively.

Dr. Trivedi also serves as a member of the Medical Economics & Practice Committee and as Vice Chair of the Division Chief Committee for the American Academy of Neurology. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology and the American Neurological Association.


Medical School
Smt. N.H.L. Municipal Medical College, India (1992)
Seth Kanaiyalal Motilal (1993), Internal Medicine
Seth Kanaiyalal Motilal (1995), Internal Medicine
Overlook Hospital (1997), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2000), Neurology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2001), Neuromuscular Disease

Research Interest

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Andersen-Tawil syndrome
  • Inclusion Body Myositis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Myasthenia Gravis
  • Non-dystrophic Myotonia
  • Periodic Paralysis
  • Peripheral Neuropathy


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Myxovirus resistance protein A (MxA) expression in myositides: Sarcoplasmic expression is common in both dermatomyositis and lupus myositis.
Xing C, Trivedi J, Bitencourt N, Burns DK, Reisch JS, Cai C, Muscle Nerve 2024 Feb
An Unusual Presentation of Dermatomyositis With Muscle Hypertrophy.
Bailey G, Trivedi JR, Cureus 2023 Jun 15 6 e41005
Phase 2 trial in acetylcholine receptor antibody-positive myasthenia gravis of transition from intravenous to subcutaneous immunoglobulin: The MGSCIg study.
Pasnoor M, Bril V, Levine T, Trivedi J, Silvestri NJ, Phadnis M, Katzberg HD, Saperstein DS, Wolfe GI, Herbelin L, Higgs K, Heim AJ, Statland JM, Barohn RJ, Dimachkie MM, Eur J Neurol 2023 Feb
Muscle Channelopathies.
Trivedi JR, Continuum (Minneap Minn) 2022 Dec 28 6 1778-1799
Long-term Safety and Efficacy of Avalglucosidase Alfa in Patients With Late-Onset Pompe Disease.
Dimachkie MM, Barohn RJ, Byrne B, Goker-Alpan O, Kishnani PS, Ladha S, Laforêt P, Mengel KE, Peña LDM, Sacconi S, Straub V, Trivedi J, Van Damme P, van der Ploeg AT, Vissing J, Young P, Haack KA, Foster M, Gilbert JM, Miossec P, Vitse O, Zhou T, Schoser B, Neurology 2022 May
Port-Wine Stain and Monomelic Weakness Associated With Perineurioma: A Neuromuscular Image.
Riecke J, Chhabra A, Burns D, Trivedi JR, J Clin Neuromuscul Dis 2022 Mar 23 3 156-159
Rapidly Progressive Paraneoplastic Neuropathy Associated with Renal Cell Carcinoma: A Case Report.
Shah D, Trivedi J, Vernino S, Khan S, J Cancer Sci Clin Ther 2022 6 3 333-335
Eculizumab in refractory generalized myasthenia gravis previously treated with rituximab: subgroup analysis of REGAIN and its extension study.
Siddiqi ZA, Nowak RJ, Mozaffar T, O'Brien F, Yountz M, Patti F, Muscle Nerve 2021 Sep
New patient access via telehealth in neuromuscular medicine during COVID-19.
Khan S, Kramer A, McIver J, Cady L, Trivedi JR, Work 2021 Jun

Honors & Awards

  • Trephined Cranium Teaching Award
    Department of Neurology (2007)
  • Trephined Cranium Teaching Award
    Department of Neurology (2003)
  • Senior Resident of the Year
    From Staff of Acute Stroke Unit/Epilepsy Monitoring Unit at PMH, Dallas, Tx (2000)
  • Outstanding Resident
    Achievement in Clinical Science&Humanism in the Practice of Medicine (1997)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Neurology (Fellow) (1998)
  • American Academy of Neurology (Member) (2019-2023)
  • American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (2005)
  • American Neurological Association (Fellow) (2013)
  • Constitution Committee, Muscle Study Group (2010-2019)
  • Dallas County Medical Society (2012)
  • Muscle Study Group (2007)
  • Neurology Board of Directors Nominations Committee, American Academy of Neurology (2014)
  • Neuromuscular & Clinical Neurophysiology Abstract Review (Topic Chair), American Academy of Neurology (2016-2020)
  • Periodic Paralysis Association (Medical Advisory Board) (2014-2021)
  • Planning Committee (Co-Chair), Muscle Study Group Annual Meeting (2013-2014)
  • Special Interest Group/Symposia Committee, American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (2009-2011)
  • Texas Medical Association (2012)