Reeni Abraham, M.D., is an Associate Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and a member of its Division of General Internal Medicine. She currently serves as the UT Southwestern Internal Medicine Associate Vice Chair for Undergraduate Medical Education and a Colleges Mentor.

Originally from Nederland, Texas, Dr. Abraham holds a bachelor's degree in biology from Texas A&M University in College Station. She earned her medical degree at Texas Tech University School of Medicine in Lubbock, and completed internal medicine residency training at Montefiore Medical Center in the Bronx, New York. She then earned faculty development certificates in Clinical Safety & Effectiveness and Mentoring Excellence for Developing Leaders at UT Southwestern. She also completed the Harvard Macy Institute's Program for Educators in Health Professions.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine, Dr. Abraham joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2009 as an Assistant Professor. She was promoted to Associate Professor in 2017.

Dr. Abraham is on several committees at UT Southwestern. She is Co-Chair of the Internal Medicine MS4 Advising Committee and the Internal Medicine Core Clerkship Grade Evaluation Committee. Dr. Abraham is also a Medical Education Track Faculty Advisor.

Dr. Abraham is an active member of the Texas Medical Association, the American Medical Association, the American College of Physicians, and the Clerkship Directors of Internal Medicine (CDIM).


Medical School
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (2003)
Albert Einstein College of Medicine (2006), Internal Medicine

Research Interest

  • Medical Education
  • Mitigating the Negative Effects of the Hidden Curriculum


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

The Impact of Internal Medicine Clerkship Characteristics and NBME Subject Exams on USMLE Step 2 Clinical Knowledge Exam Performance.
Fitz M, Adams W, Heincelman M, Haist S, Whelan K, Cox L, Cao UT, Hingle S, Raff A, Houghton B, Fitzpatrick J, Nall R, Foster J, Appelbaum J, Grum C, Donovan A, Kiken S, Abraham R, Hlafka M, Miller C, Bansal S, Paauw D, Lai CJ, Pincavage A, Agarwal G, Burns C, Holzer H, Lappé K, John V, Barker B, Mingioni N, Rao D, Zakowski L, Chakraborti C, Williams W, Kelly W, J Gen Intern Med 2022 Jun
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease and the Physical Examination.
Abraham RA, Brinker SK, Med Clin North Am 2022 May 106 3 423-435
AAIM Recommendations for the 2020-2021 Internal Medicine Residency Application Cycle in Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.
Chretien KC, Raj JM, Abraham RA, Aronowitz P, Astiz DJ, Chheda SG, Esquivel EL, Garcia MM, Ismail N, Lane S, McLaughlin SE, Pereira A, Shaheen AW, Spencer AL, Tartaglia KM, Willett LL, Am. J. Med. 2020 Jul
Disseminated Coccidioidomycosis in an Immunocompetent Person Living in New York City
Chuang, A., Thomas, R., and Hoffman, R. Journal of Urban Health May 2005 82 339-345

Honors & Awards

  • Distinguished Teaching Professor
    UT Southwestern (2019)
  • The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D. Academy of Health Science Education
    UT Southwestern Medical Center (2019)
  • Gold Humanism Honor Society Inductee
    UT Southwestern Chapter (2018)
  • Gold Humanism Scholar Award
    The Gold Foundation supports health profession educators who are developing and enhancing projects focused on achieving humanistic patient care that can be replicated across a variety of hospital or other healthcare settings. (2018-2019)
  • Alpha Omega Alpha
    UT Southwestern Chapter (2017)
  • Outstanding General Medicine Wards Teaching Award
    Internal Medicine Clerkship (2017)
  • UTSW Core Clerkship Teaching Award
    UT Southwestern, Subinternship Class of 2011 (2011)
  • Davidoff Teaching Award
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center (2006)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American College of Physcians (2006)
  • American Medical Association (2009)
  • CDIM Council Member (2018)
  • Clerkship Directors of Internal Medicine (2012)
  • Texas Medical Association (2009)