Gary E. Lemack, M.D., Professor, Department of Urology, Residency Program Director, Department of Urology. Education: Undergraduate: B.A., Cornell University, 1987; Medical School: Cornell University Medical College, 1991; Residency: The New York Hospital Cornell Medical Center, 1991-1997; Fellowship in Incontinence, Urodynamics, Neurourology: UT Southwestern, 1997-1999. Dr. Lemack is currently a Professor in the Department of Urology at UT Southwestern and has a secondary appointment in the Department of Neurology. He is Director of Urodynamics in the Department of Urology at Parkland Memorial Hospital. His basic research has focused on animal models of bladder dysfunction.  His clinical research has focused on the evaluating the use of urodynamic studies in patients with lower urinary tract dysfunction/incontinence, and establishing best urological practices in the care of patients with multiple sclerosis and other neurological conditions. His clinical interests lie in the care of patience with incontinence, pelvic organ prolapse and voiding dysfunction in the setting of neurologic disease.


Medical School
Weill Cornell Medical College (1991)
New York Hospital (1993), General Surgery
New York Hospital (1997), Urology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1999), Urology

Research Interest

  • Bladder dysfunction related to spinal cord injury and multiple sclerosis-experimental models
  • Bladder outlet obstruction in women
  • Outcome measures for urinary incontinence
  • Urodynamics in assessing bladder function


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Incontinence: Helping women stay in control
Lemack G.E. Cortland Forum January 2007 53-54
Use of urodynamics prior to surgery for urinary incontinence: how helpful is preoperative testing?
Lemack G.E. Indian Journal of Urology 2007 23 142-147
Burch colposuspension versus fascial sling to reduce urinary stress incontinence
Albo M., Richter H.E., Brubaker L., Norton P., Kraus S.R., Zimmern P.E., Chai T.C., Zyczynski H., Diokno A.C., Tennstedt S., Nager C., lloyd L.K., Fitzgerald M., Lemack, G.E., Johnson H.W., Leng W., Mallett V., Stoddard A.M., Menefee S., Varner R.E., Kenton K., Moalli P., Sirls L., Dandreo K.J., Kusek J.W., Nyberg L.m., Steers W., for the Urinary Incontinence Treatment Network New England Journal Medicine 2007 356 2143-2155
The relationships among measures of incontinence severity in women undergoing surgery for stress urinary incontinence
Albo M., Wruck L., Baker J., Brubaker L., Chai T., Dandreo K.J., Diokno A., Goode P., Kraus S., Kusek J.W., Lemack G., Lowder J., Steers W. Journal of Urology 2007 177 1810-4
Highlights of the Urethral Dysfunction Sessions at the Society for Urodynamics and Female Urology
Lee U., Schaefer W., Lemack G.E., Wein A.J., Daneshgari F. Current Bladder Dysfunction Reports 2007 2 71-76

Honors & Awards

  • Best Doctors in Dallas
    D Magazine (2006)
  • Examination Committee, American Board of Urology
  • Holder of Rose Mary Haggar Professorship
  • Residency Program Director
    UT Southwestern Urology Residency Program (0)
  • UT Southwestern Mobility Foundation Grant
    Awarded for research in spinal cord injury, 2000-2002 (0)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Urological Association
  • International Continence Society
  • Society of Urodynamics and Female Urology
  • South Central Section of American Urological Association (AUA)
  • Texas Medical Association