Dr. Matt Leveno was raised in Dallas, Texas. He graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University of Texas at Austin with a Bachelor’s degree in Biology and returned to his Dallas home to attend UT Southwestern for medical school. Prior to starting his internship in Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern, he spent one year working in various clinics throughout Mexico and Guatemala. Upon completion of his internship he completed a residency in Emergency Medicine at Boston University. He then returned to UT Southwestern to complete his Internal Medicine residency. He completed Pulmonary and Critical Care fellowship training at UT Southwestern and received his research mentorship under Dr. Beth Levine while investigating autophagy’s role in innate immunity. Dr. Matt Leveno is currently an Assistant Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.  Currently, he is Medical Director for the Medical Intensive Care Unit at Parkland Health and Hospital Systems.


Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical School (2002)
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2003), Internal Medicine
Boston Medical Center (2006), Emergency Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2008), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012), Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine

Research Interest

  • Critical Care: clinical outcomes, resources utilization, ARDS, sepsis, ECMO
  • Innate immunity


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Identification of a candidate therapeutic autophagy-inducing peptide.
Shoji-Kawata S, Sumpter R, Leveno M, Campbell GR, Zou Z, Kinch L, Wilkins AD, Sun Q, Pallauf K, MacDuff D, Huerta C, Virgin HW, Helms JB, Eerland R, Tooze SA, Xavier R, Lenschow DJ, Yamamoto A, King D, Lichtarge O, Grishin NV, Spector SA, Kaloyanova DV, Levine B Nature 2013 Feb 494 7436 201-6

Honors & Awards

  • Senior Resident Teaching Award
    UT Southwestern Internal Medicine Residency (2008)
  • Senior Resident Teaching Award
    Boston Medical Center Emergency Medicine Residency (2006)