Research Interest

  • Artificial Intelligence and Big Data
  • Innovative education
  • Macular holes and epiretinal membrane surgeries
  • Ocular Imaging
  • Social determinants of health
  • Telemedicine


Using Natural Language Processing to Identify Different Lens Pathology in Electronic Health Records
Author Collaboration SC, Stein JD, Zhou Y, Andrews CA, Kim JE, Addis V, Bixler J, Grove N, McMillan B, Munir SZ, Pershing S, Schultz JS, Stagg BC, Wang SY, Woreta F American journal of ophthalmology 2024 Jun 262 153-160
Prediction Models for Glaucoma in a Multicenter Electronic Health Records Consortium: The Sight Outcomes Research Collaborative
Author Collaboration SC, Wang SY, Ravindranath R, Stein JD, Amin S, Edwards PA, Srikumaran D, Woreta F, Schultz JS, Shrivastava A, Ahmad B, Kim J, Bryar P, French D, Vanderbeek BL, Pershing S, Wang SY, Lynch AM, Patnaik J, Munir S, Munir W, Stein J, DeLott L, Stagg BC, Wirostko B, McMillian B, Sheybani A Ophthalmology Science 2024 May 4
ITF2357 regulates NF-κB signaling pathway to protect barrier integrity in retinal pigment epithelial cells
Lim RR, Mahaling B, Tan A, Mehta M, Kaur C, Hunziker W, Kim JE, Barathi VA, Ghosh A, Chaurasia SS FASEB Journal 2024 Mar 38
Evidence-Based Use of Bevacizumab in the Management of Neovascular Age-Related Macular Degeneration
Singh RP, Avery RL, Barakat MR, Kim JE, Kiss S Ophthalmic Surgery Lasers and Imaging Retina 2024 Mar 55 156-162
Eyes on the Future: Inspiring Latino Middle School Youth to Pursue Careers in STEM Through Early Interactive Science Programming
Carrillo LA, Valdes RA, Desjarlais EB, Medic V, Kim JE Wisconsin medical journal 2024 Feb 123 34-38
Retinal Vasculitis After Intravitreal Pegcetacoplan: Report From the ASRS Research and Safety in Therapeutics (ReST) Committee
Witkin AJ, Jaffe GJ, Srivastava SK, Davis JL, Kim JE Journal of VitreoRetinal Diseases 2024 Jan 8 9-20
Subretinal drusenoid deposits, age-related macular degeneration, and cardiovascular disease
Smith RT, Olsen TW, Chong V, Kim J, Hammer M, Lema G, Deobhakta A, Tan A, Tong Y, Tai K, Fei Y, Mordechaev E, Ledesma-Gil G, Otero-Marquez O, Rosen RB, Bhuiyan A, Sivaprasad S, Rosenfeld PJ Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology 2024 Jan 13
Generative Artificial Intelligence Through ChatGPT and Other Large Language Models in Ophthalmology: Clinical Applications and Challenges
Tan TF, Thirunavukarasu AJ, Campbell JP, Keane PA, Pasquale LR, Abramoff MD, Kalpathy-Cramer J, Lum F, Kim JE, Baxter SL, Ting DS Ophthalmology Science 2023 Dec 3
Incidence and Risk of Retinopathy in Patients With and Without Interstitial Cystitis and Pentosan Polysulfate Sodium Use
Desjarlais EB, Medic V, Kim JE Journal of VitreoRetinal Diseases 2023 Sep 7 412-419
Artificial Intelligence for Visual Acuity-Gaps from Algorithm to Actualization
Baxter SL, Kim JE JAMA Ophthalmology 2023 Jul 141 685-686

Honors & Awards

  • Secretariat Awards
    American Academy of Ophthalmology (2022-2023)
  • Inaugural Fellow
    American Society of Retina Specialists (2021)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    American Academy of Ophthalmology (2021)
  • Power List of "100 Most Influential Women in Ophthalmology,"
    as designated by the publication The Ophthalmologist (2021-2022)
  • Silver Fellow
    Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (2019)
  • Suzanne Véronneau-Troutman Award
    Women in Ophthalmology (2019)
  • Women Pioneer in Research Award
    Medical College of Wisconsin (2018)
  • Castle Connolly
    Top Doctors. Selected annually since 2012. (2012)
  • Outstanding Faculty Service Award
    Medical College of Wisconsin (2011)
  • Best Doctors in America
    Recognition given to the top 4 percent of physicians in the country. Recognized annually since 2003 (2003)
  • Heed Ophthalmic Foundation Fellowship

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Ophthalmology, Board of Trustee Member (2019-2022)
  • American Academy of Ophthalmology, Committee on Artificial Intelligence (2021)
  • American Ophthalmological Society, Credentialing Committee Chair (2020-2021)
  • American Society of Retina Specialists, President (2022-2023)
  • Asia-Pacific Retinal Imaging Society, Vice Chair (2022)
  • Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology
  • Macula Society, 2026 President-Elect
  • Macula Society, Treasurer (Executive Committee) (2023-2024)
  • NAEVR/AEVR, Member, Board of Directors (2020)
  • Retina Society, Credentialing Committee Chair (2015-2019)
  • Women in Retina, Chair Emerita (2021-2023)