Viktor Iakovenko, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology’s Division of Medical Physics & Engineering.

Dr. Iakovenko received his B.Sc. in physics and his M.Sc. in nuclear and particle physics at Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv in Ukraine. He subsequently received his Ph.D. in particle physics at Paris-Sud University in Orsay, France. Dr. Iakovenko went on to complete his postdoctoral fellowship at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre within the University Health Network in Toronto, Canada.

Prior to joining UT Southwestern, Dr. Iakovenko completed a radiation oncology physics residency within the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Toronto in Canada, and went on to work as a medical physicist there.

His research interests include MR-guided adaptive radiation therapy, development of novel detector systems for radiation therapy, dosimetry for emerging treatment modalities, and stereotactic radiotherapy.

Research Interest

  • Development of novel detector systems for radiation therapy
  • Dosimetry for emerging treatment modalities
  • MR-guided adaptive radiation therapy
  • Stereotactic radiotherapy

Honors & Awards

  • Sylvia Fedoruk Prize in Medical Physics for paper published in 2020
  • Audience Choice Award at pitch competition FACIT FalconsÂ’ Fortune 2018
  • Fellowship from the European Association for Cancer Research
  • Best oral presentation at IV International Conference for Medical Physics
  • Scholarship from the Presidium of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine for Young Scientists
  • Best oral presentation at International Conference for Young Scientists and Ph.D. students
  • Scholarship from the President of Ukraine for Young Scientists

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Association of Physicists in Medicine (2019)
  • Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (2018)
  • International Federation for Medical and Biological Engineering (2015)
  • Medical Physicists for the World Benefits (2015)
  • Ukrainian Association of Medical Physicists and Engineers (2014)