Samir Parikh, M.D., is a Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and Chief of the Division of Nephrology. He holds the Robert Tucker Hayes Distinguished Chair in Nephrology in honor of Dr. Floyd C. Rector, Jr., and the Ruth W. and Milton P. Levy, Sr. Chair in Molecular Nephrology. He also holds a secondary appointment as Professor of Pharmacology, and is a full member of the Cellular and Molecular Graduate Program.

Dr. Parikh holds a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Harvard College in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he graduated magna cum laude. He earned his medical degree at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, Tennessee, where he was the Founder' Medal Valedictorian of his graduating class. He completed both his residency in internal medicine and fellowship in nephrology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in nephrology, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2021. Previously, he served on the faculty at Harvard Medical School, starting as an Assistant Professor in 2010, advancing to an Associate Professor in 2014, and becoming a Professor in 2020.

Dr. Parikh is a member of the American Society of Nephrology and the International Society of Nephrology. He serves on the editorial boards of the PLOS One and the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, and he is the associate editor of Kidney 360.

He has delivered a wealth of presentations both nationally and internationally and has published widely in scholarly journals.

Among many other honors, in 2021 he received a faculty STARs Award from UT Southwestern.


Medical School
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine (2001)
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (2002)
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (2003), Internal Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (2006), Nephrology

Research Interest

  • Acute Kidney Injury
  • Aging
  • Critical Illness
  • NAD+ and Mitochondrial Metabolism
  • Vascular Biology


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

The Significance of NAD+ Biosynthesis Alterations in Acute Kidney Injury.
Clark AJ, Saade MC, Parikh SM, Semin Nephrol 2022 May 42 3 151287
States of quinolinic acid excess in urine: A systematic review of human studies.
Saade MC, Clark AJ, Parikh SM, Front Nutr 2022 9 1070435
An Evolutionarily Conserved uORF Regulates PGC1a and Oxidative Metabolism in Mice, Flies, and Bluefin Tuna.
Dumesic PA, Egan DF, Gut P, Tran MT, Parisi A, Chatterjee N, Jedrychowski M, Paschini M, Kazak L, Wilensky SE, Dou F, Bogoslavski D, Cartier JA, Perrimon N, Kajimura S, Parikh SM, Spiegelman BM, Cell Metab 2019 07 30 1 190-200.e6
Metabolic reprogramming by the S-nitroso-CoA reductase system protects against kidney injury.
Zhou HL, Zhang R, Anand P, Stomberski CT, Qian Z, Hausladen A, Wang L, Rhee EP, Parikh SM, Karumanchi SA, Stamler JS, Nature 2019 01 565 7737 96-100
Increased synthesis of a coenzyme linked to longevity can combat disease.
Parikh SM, Nature 2018 11 563 7731 332-333
De novo NAD+ biosynthetic impairment in acute kidney injury in humans.
Poyan Mehr A, Tran MT, Ralto KM, Leaf DE, Washco V, Messmer J, Lerner A, Kher A, Kim SH, Khoury CC, Herzig SJ, Trovato ME, Simon-Tillaux N, Lynch MR, Thadhani RI, Clish CB, Khabbaz KR, Rhee EP, Waikar SS, Berg AH, Parikh SM, Nat Med 2018 09 24 9 1351-1359
Tie2 protects the vasculature against thrombus formation in systemic inflammation.
Higgins SJ, De Ceunynck K, Kellum JA, Chen X, Gu X, Chaudhry SA, Schulman S, Libermann TA, Lu S, Shapiro NI, Christiani DC, Flaumenhaft R, Parikh SM, J Clin Invest 2018 04 128 4 1471-1484
Targeting Tie2 and the host vascular response in sepsis.
Parikh SM, Sci Transl Med 2016 04 8 335 335fs9
PGC1a drives NAD biosynthesis linking oxidative metabolism to renal protection.
Tran MT, Zsengeller ZK, Berg AH, Khankin EV, Bhasin MK, Kim W, Clish CB, Stillman IE, Karumanchi SA, Rhee EP, Parikh SM, Nature 2016 Mar 531 7595 528-32
Gene control of tyrosine kinase TIE2 and vascular manifestations of infections.
Ghosh CC, David S, Zhang R, Berghelli A, Milam K, Higgins SJ, Hunter J, Mukherjee A, Wei Y, Tran M, Suber F, Kobzik L, Kain KC, Lu S, Santel A, Yano K, Guha P, Dumont DJ, Christiani DC, Parikh SM, Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 2016 Mar 113 9 2472-7

Honors & Awards

  • American Association of Physicians
    AAP (2021)
  • Science and Technology Acquisition and Retention (STAR) Award
    UT Southwestern (2021)
  • Donald W. Seldin Young Investigator Award
    American Society of Nephrology and American Heart Association (2019)
  • Outstanding Investigator Award
    National Heart, Lung, Blood Institute (2018)
  • Sir William Osler Award
    Interurban Clinical Club (2018)
  • American Society of Clinical Investigation
    ASCI (2017)
  • Carl Gottschalk Award
    American Society of Nephrology (2008)
  • Founder's Medal
    Vanderbilt University School of Medicine (2001)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Society of Nephrology
  • International Society of Nephrology