Deepak Nijhawan, M.D., Ph.D., is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Internal Medicine and Biochemistry at UT Southwestern Medical Center, and a member of Internal Medicine's Division of Hematology-Oncology.  He holds the Joseph F. Sambrook, Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science and is a UT Southwestern Presidential Scholar. He specializes in lung and ovarian cancer.

Originally from Chicago, Dr. Nijhawan received his undergraduate degree in neuroscience from Northwestern University, and earned his medical degree and doctorate in biochemistry at UT Southwestern. He completed internal medicine residency training at Massachusetts General Hospital. He then completed advanced training through clinical and research fellowships in medical oncology at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in internal medicine and medical oncology, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2012.

Dr. Nijhawan’s research focuses on using cancer genomics to predict new cancer vulnerabilities and translating these findings into the clinic to improve the treatment of ovarian and lung cancer.

His investigations have resulted in many publications in peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, he has presented his findings at scientific conferences throughout the United States and the world.

Personal Note

Dr. Nijhawan’s interests outside medicine include cycling, hiking, travel, and sports.



Other Post Graduate Training
UT Southwestern Medical School (2005)
Graduate School
UT Southwestern Medical School (2005)
Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical School (2005)
Massachusetts General Hospital (2007), Internal Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (2011), Hematology Oncology

Research Interest

  • Cancer Genomics
  • Chemical Target Identification
  • Lung Cancer
  • Synthetic Lethality


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Honors & Awards

  • ASCO Young Investigator Award

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Association of Cancer Research (2007)
  • Conquer Cancer Foundation (2007)