Steven Johnson, M.D., is a Faculty Associate in the Department of Urology at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in all aspects of general urology, with particular interests in penile prosthetic surgery, cryoablation of the prostate, testosterone replacement, and endoscopic treatment of bladder cancer, kidney stones, and prostate disease.

Dr. Johnson earned his medical degree at Louisiana State University School of Medicine in Shreveport. He completed a residency in urology at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, where his research focused on the use of surgical lasers to treat prostate disease and bladder cancer. This work resulted in awards from The American Society of Lasers in Medicine and Surgery, the South Central Section of the American Urological Society, and the Texas Urological Society.  

Certified by the American Board of Urology, Dr. Johnson practiced in Sherman, Texas, for more than 20 years and joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2019. He will develop and expand the presence of UT Southwestern in north central Texas and southeastern Oklahoma. 

Previously, he was the Chief of Surgery at Texoma Medical Center, where he also served a term as Chief of the medical staff. He continues to provide all of the urology core education for the family practice residency program based out of that hospital.

Community health education is a priority for Dr. Johnson. He regularly produces men’s health programs in Sherman and Denison, Texas, and is often a featured guest on KXII’s News 12 Medical Minutes to discuss urologic topics.

Dr. Johnson was the youngest elected President of the Texas Urological Society and was the only urologist from Texas chosen for the inaugural class of the American Urological Association’s Leadership Development program. He has been involved in national meetings as both a presenter and moderator, and is recognized for his expertise in patient advocacy, practice management, and the socioeconomics of medicine. In addition to those two organizations, he is a member of the Texas Medical Association.


Medical School
Louisiana State University School of Medicine (1990)
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (1992), Surgery
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (1996), Urology