Dr. Wolff obtained his undergraduate degree in Biology at Brown University in 1979 and went on to obtain his medical degree at UT Southwestern in 1983. Dr. Wolff completed his internship and residency training at Baylor College of Medicine in 1987 and joined the UT Southwestern faculty that same year. He is a professor of psychiatry and an associate training director for the general adult psychiatry program. Dr. Wolff's clinical expertise is in the areas of adult outpatient psychiatry and student mental health. Currently, Dr. Wolff serves as the assistant medical director at the Parkland Psychiatry Outpatient Clinic, is a staff psychiatrist at UT Southwestern Medical Center Student Wellness and Counseling, and teaches as a lecturer and supervisor of psychiatry residents. Dr. Wolff's research participation has been in the areas of novel antipsychotics, suicide, and electroconvulsive therapy. Dr. Wolff has been honored as an American Psychiatric Association Distinguished Life Fellow and by receiving the Exemplary Psychiatrist Award from the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill and being elected as a faculty member of the local chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha national medical honor society. Dr. Wolff is a member of the North Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians (past president) and the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians (past president). Dr. Wolff is a past president of the UT Southwestern Medical School Faculty Senate as well.


Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1983)
Baylor College of Medicine (1984), Psychiatry
Baylor College of Medicine (1987), Psychiatry

Research Interest

  • depression
  • psychotherapy
  • student mental health
  • suicide


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Structured diagnostic assessment and depot fluphenazine treatment of multiple suicide attempters in the emergency department
Battaglia, Wolff, Wagner-Johnson, Rush, Carmody, Ramirez-Bosco International Clinical Psychopharmacology 1999 vol 14 no 6 361-372

Honors & Awards

  • Alpha Omega Alpha, medical school honorary society
    Elected faculty member (2023)
  • Past President
    Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians (2020-2021)
  • Distinguished Life Fellow
    American Psychiatric Association (APA) (2019)
  • Irma Bland Award
    Excellence in teaching residents, American Psychiatric Association (2015)
  • Nancy C.A. Roeske
    Certificate in Excellence in Medical Student Education, American Psychiatric Association (2005)
  • Distinguished Fellow
    American Psychiatric Association (2003)
  • Fellow
    American Psychiatric Association (1995)
  • Exemplary Psychiatrist Award
    National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (1994)
  • Eugen Kahn Award
    For Psychiatric Excellence, Baylor College of Medicine (1987)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Psychiatric Association
  • North Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians
  • Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians
  • TMA & DCMS