Charles L. White, III, M.D., is Professor of Pathology and holds the Nancy R. McCune Distinguished Chair in Alzheimer Disease Research. He has been the Director of Neuropathology at UT Southwestern since completing his residency and fellowship training in anatomic pathology and neuropathology at Johns Hopkins in 1983.

Dr. White’s clinical and research interests focus on neurodegenerative brain disorders. He has been the director of the Neuropathology Core of the UT Southwestern Alzheimer Disease Research Center since its inception in 1988. He also directs the Winspear Family Special Center for Research on the Neuropathology of Alzheimer's Disease, established at UT Southwestern in 2002 by a generous gift from the Bill and Margot Winspear Family.

Dr. White is the Training Director for the Neuropathology Fellowship program at UT Southwestern, an ACGME-accredited, 2-year training program. Twenty-two trainees have completed the program and become board certified by the American Board of Pathology in the subspecialty of Neuropathology.

Dr. White is past president of the American Association of Neuropathologists, the national professional organization for neuropathologists in the US.  In 2020, he received its annual Award for Meritorious Contributions to Neuropathology.


Medical School
University of Arizona College of Med. (1978)
Johns Hopkins Hospital (1979), Pathology
Johns Hopkins Hospital (1981), Pathology
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (1983), Neuropathology

Research Interest

  • Alzheimer disease
  • Digital and quantitative neuropathology
  • Forensic neuropathology
  • Immunohistochemistry
  • Neurodegenerative disorders
  • Tissue microarray technology


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Neuropathologic diagnostic and nosologic criteria for frontotemporal lobar degeneration: consensus of the Consortium for Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration.
Cairns NJ, Bigio EH, Mackenzie IR, Neumann M, Lee VM, Hatanpaa KJ, White CL, Schneider JA, Grinberg LT, Halliday G, Duyckaerts C, Lowe JS, Holm IE, Tolnay M, Okamoto K, Yokoo H, Murayama S, Woulfe J, Munoz DG, Dickson DW, Ince PG, Trojanowski JQ, Mann DM Acta Neuropathol. 2007 Jul 114 1 5-22
Mutations in progranulin are a major cause of ubiquitin-positive frontotemporal lobar degeneration.
Gass J, Cannon A, Mackenzie IR, Boeve B, Baker M, Adamson J, Crook R, Melquist S, Kuntz K, Petersen R, Josephs K, Pickering-Brown SM, Graff-Radford N, Uitti R, Dickson D, Wszolek Z, Gonzalez J, Beach TG, Bigio E, Johnson N, Weintraub S, Mesulam M, White CL, Woodruff B, Caselli R, Hsiung GY, Feldman H, Knopman D, Hutton M, Rademakers R Hum. Mol. Genet. 2006 Oct 15 20 2988-3001
Frontotemporal lobar degeneration with motor neuron disease-type inclusions predominates in 76 cases of frontotemporal degeneration.
Lipton AM, White CL, Bigio EH Acta Neuropathol. 2004 Nov 108 5 379-85
Alzheimer's disease: neurofibrillary tangles in nuclei that project to the cerebral cortex.
German DC, White CL, Sparkman DR Neuroscience 1987 May 21 2 305-12
Neuronal pathology in the nucleus basalis and associated cell groups in senile dementia of the Alzheimer's type: possible role in cell loss.
Saper CB, German DC, White CL Neurology 1985 Aug 35 8 1089-95
Basal forebrain neurons in the dementia of Parkinson disease.
Whitehouse PJ, Hedreen JC, White CL, Price DL Ann. Neurol. 1983 Mar 13 3 243-8
Neuroanatomical evidence for a cholinergic deficit in Alzheimer's disease.
Whitehouse PJ, Struble RG, Hedreen JC, Clark AW, White CL, Parhad IM, Price DL Psychopharmacol Bull 1983 19 3 437-40

Honors & Awards

  • Award for Meritorious Contributions to Neuropathology, American Association of Neuropathologists
  • President, American Association of Neuropathologists
  • Best Doctors in America, 2003-2020
  • Manuscript of the Year Award, ASCP
  • Phi Beta Kappa

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Digital Pathology Association (2015)
  • American Society for Clinical Pathology (2001)
  • Society for Neuroscience (1990)
  • American Society for Investigative Pathology (1984)
  • The Histochemical Society (1984)
  • American Association of Neuropathologists (1983)
  • United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (1981)