Dr. McCaslin is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She specializes in the evaluation and treatment of individuals with severe mental illness. She obtained her doctoral degree in psychology from The School of Professional Psychology at Forest Institute in 2015. She completed a post-doctoral fellowship in the combined Substance Use Disorder/Geropsychology track at the VA North Texas Health Care System. Dr. McCaslin joined UT Southwestern faculty in 2016 and serves as a member of the Clinical Training and Admissions Committees in the doctoral Clinical Psychology program. She is currently serving as Board of Trustee member for the Texas Psychological Association and Treasurer for the Dallas Psychological Association.

Dr. McCaslin’s clinical expertise is in the area of evaluation and treatment of severe mental illness including bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, and co-occurring substance use disorder. Research interests include patient engagement and behavioral management in inpatient psychiatric settings.

Dr. McCaslin was selected Outstanding Clinical Supervisor in the doctoral Clinical Psychology program and awarded the Spirit of Caring Award from UT Southwestern Medical Center in 2021.


Graduate School
School of Professional Psychology at Forest Institute (2015), Psychology
Florida State Hospital (2015), Clinical Psychology
VA North Texas Health Care System (2016), Clinical Psychology


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Beyond Traditional Therapy: Tips for Developing the Role of Early Career Psychologists in Interdisciplinary Settings
Scott, K., Lanaway, D., & McCaslin, K. Texas Psychologist 2021


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Honors & Awards

  • Outstanding Clinical Supervisor
    UT Southwestern Clinical Psychology Program (2021)
  • Spirit of Caring Award
    UT Southwestern Medical Center (2021)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Psychological Association (2011)
  • Dallas Psychological Association (2016)
  • Texas Psychological Association (2017)