Prior to joining the faculty of UT Southwestern, Dr. Collins enjoyed a robust background in university administration. She earned her PhD in Higher Education Administration from the University of North Texas, and previous responsibilities included director-level positions in enrollment management and graduate programs at regional and private universities. Her research explored factors across the spectrum of learners’ personal, familial, academic, and socio-economic experiences that impact academic attainment, and she served as a national, state and institutional-level advocate for college Access and Success programs. Dr. Collins was drawn professionally to UT Southwestern by its reputation for academic excellence and innovation. Currently, she collaborates with colleagues in Internal Medicine undergraduate medical education to nurture scholarly activities and curricula enhancements for medical students, and administer the core clerkship and various elective courses. She holds that her foremost responsibility as a scholarly administrator is to help learners, directly or indirectly, fulfill the education promises they make to themselves – the promises fueling their vision of success in the present and future. Dr. Collins’ interests outside of medicine include her family, her community, fitness, travel and life-long learning.

Research Interest

  • Curricula Efficacy in Medical Education
  • Professional Identity Formation of Medical Learners
  • The "Hidden Curriculum" in Medical Education

Honors & Awards

  • Stephen Abrahamson Award for Innovation
    USC Keck School of Medicine - Curricular Innovation Award (2018)
  • Star Award: "Emerald Eagle Scholars" Access and Success Program Award
    Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (2009)
  • Outstanding Young Women in America
  • Who's Who in American Colleges and Universities
  • Who's Who in American Colleges and Universities

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (2016)
  • American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (2005-2014)
  • Texas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (2005-2014)
  • National Association of Graduate Admissions Professionals (2000-2005)