Praveen Ramakrishnan, M.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Ramakrishnan is originally from India and received his initial medical training at the Medical College University of Kerala, India. He then completed a residency in Internal Medicine residency from the Jawaharlal Institute of Medical Education and Research (JIPMER), Puducherry, India. Drawn by the opportunity for the integration of clinical medicine, hematologic malignancies, and stem cell transplantation, he completed his hematology and medical oncology fellowship at the Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia, PA. He also earned a Masters of Science in Pharmacology through the NIH K30 Training Program in Human Investigation.

Dr. Ramakrishnan’s ongoing research is on targeted and cellular therapies in hematologic malignancies. He brings to UTSW a strong background in medical oncology, malignant hematology, and medical education; he currently specializes in blood and bone marrow transplantation and his clinical practice emphasizes patient and family-centered care.

Dr. Ramakrishnan’s interests outside of medicine include reading, watching movies, travel, and quizzing.


Medical School
Medical College University of Kerala (2007)
Einstein Medical Center (2014), Internal Medicine
Sidney Kimmel Medical College (2017), Hematology Oncology

Research Interest

  • Cellular Therapy
  • Hematologic Malignancies
  • Stem Cell Transplantation
  • Targeted Therapy


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Outcomes of rituximab-BEAM versus BEAM conditioning regimen in patients with diffuse large B cell lymphoma undergoing autologous transplantation.
Jagadeesh D, Majhail NS, He Y, Ahn KW, Litovich C, Ahmed S, Aljurf M, Bacher U, Badawy SM, Bejanyan N, Cairo M, Cerny J, Epperla N, Farhadfar N, Freytes CO, Gale RP, Haverkos B, Hossain N, Inwards D, Kamble RT, Kenkre VP, Lazarus HM, Lazaryan A, Lekakis L, Mei M, Murthy HS, Mussetti A, Nathan S, Nishihori T, Olsson RF, Ramakrishnan Geethakumari P, Savani BN, Yared JA, Fenske TS, Kharfan-Dabaja MA, Sureda A, Hamadani M, Cancer 2020 Feb
An evaluation of zanubrutinib, a BTK inhibitor, for the treatment of chronic lymphocytic leukemia.
Geethakumari PR, Awan F. Expert Rev Hematol 2020 13 10 1039-1046
A Radiomic Machine Learning Model to Predict Treatment Response to Methotrexate and Survival Outcomes in Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma
Ali O, Nalawade S, Xi Y, Wagner B, Mazal A, Ahlers S, Rizvi S, Awan F, Kumar K, Desai NB, Maldjian JA, Pinho M, Ramakrishnan Geethakumari P Blood 2020 136 Supplement 1 29-30
Comparison of Demographics, Treatment Patterns and Outcomes among Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma (PCNSL) Patients Treated at a Safety-Net Hospital versus a Tertiary Academic Institution within the same Healthcare System
Patel A, Ali O, Kainthla R, Rizvi S, Awan F, Desai NB, Timmerman R, Kumar K, Ramakrishnan Geethakumari P Blood 2020 136 Supplement 1 11-12
CAR T-cell Therapy in Relapsed/ Refractory Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma (R/R DLBCL): A ?Real-World? Analysis of Patterns of Failure and Role of Bridging Therapy
Ravella R, Ramakrishnan Geethakumari P, Kumar K, et al. Blood 2020 136 Supplement 1 22-23
Evaluation of SARS-CoV-2 Serological Testing in Patients with Multiple Myeloma and Other Hematologic Malignancies on Monoclonal Antibody Therapies.
Mahimainathan L, Narasimhan M, Corchado R, Patel H, Kansagra A, Devaraj S, Ramakrishnan Geethakumari P, Muthukumar A. Diagnostics 2020 12 10 992
Association of Reduced-Intensity Conditioning Regimens With Overall Survival Among Patients With Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma Undergoing Allogeneic Transplant.
Ghosh N, Ahmed S, Ahn KW, Ramakrishnan P, et al. JAMA Oncology 2020 7 6 1011-1018
Breast Implant-associated Plasmablastic Lymphoma: A Case Report and Discussion of the Literature.
Geethakumari PR, Markantonis J, Shah JL, Alsuwaidan A, Shahab I, Chen W, Jaso JM, Clin Lymphoma Myeloma Leuk 2019 Jun
Allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation provides effective salvage despite refractory disease or failed prior autologous transplant in angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma: a CIBMTR analysis
Epperla N, Ahn KW, Litovich C, Ramakrishnan P, Fenske TS, Hamadani M, et al. Journal of Hematology & Oncology 2019 12
MYC Partner Matters: MYC-IGH is Associated with Inferior Survival in De Novo High-Grade B-cell Lymphomas with MYC and BCL2 and/or BCL6 Rearrangements.
Chaudhry R, Alsuwaidan A, Ramakrishnan Geethakumari P, Chen et al. Laboratory Investigation - Nature 2019 99 March 1

Honors & Awards

  • Certificate of Merit for First Prize
    ACP National Doctors Dilemma Competition (Medical Jeopardy), Orlando, FL (2014)
  • Sonia Stupniker, M.D. Award for Outstanding Achievement in Scholarly Activity
    Albert Einstein Medial Center Convocation, Philadelphia, PA (2014)
  • Certificate of Merit for First Prize
    ACP National Doctors Dilemma Competition (Medical Jeopardy), San Francisco, CA (2013)
  • Certificate of Merit for First Prize
    ACP National Doctors Dilemma Competition (Medical Jeopardy) New Orleans, LA (2012)
  • Dr. Chandrasekar Memorial Gold Medal - Best Outgoing Post Graduate, Internal Medicine
    Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research, India (2010)
  • Gold Medal, Best Research Dissertation
    Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research, India (2010)
  • Gold Medals in Cardiology, Neurology, and Internal Medicine
    Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research, India (2010)
  • Gold Medals in Obstetrics and Gynecology, Physiology, and Biophysics
    Government Medical College, University of Kerala, India (2005)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Dallas County Medical Society (2017)
  • Texas Medical Association (2017)
  • American Association for Cancer Research (2016)
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (2016)
  • American Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (2015)
  • Indo-American Cancer Association (2015)
  • American Society for Hematology (2014)
  • American Society for Clinical Oncology (2013)
  • American College of Physicians (2011)
  • American Medical Association (2011)