Dr. Secrest obtained his undergraduate degree in Zoology at Wheaton College in Illinois. He went on to obtain his M.D. degree at UT Southwestern Medical School in 1968. Dr. Secrest completed his psychoanalytic training at New Orleans Psychoanalytic Institute in New Orleans in 1975 - 1983. Dr. Secrest did his internship at Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas and residency training at UT Southwestern Medical School, completing it in 1974. Dr. Secrest joined the U.T. Southwestern Faculty in 1974. His departmental activities include clinical, teaching, and administrative. Dr. Secrests clinical expertise is in the area(s) of psychoanalysis, geropsych and adult, and addictions. Dr. Secrest's work has been honored by receiving the following awards: Fellow of American Psychological Association and the Bronze Star from the U.S. Army in Viet Nam. Dr. Secrest is active in the following professional organizations: Dallas County Medical Society, North Texas Psychiatric Society, Texas Psychiatric Society, American Psychiatric Association, Dallas Psychoanalytic Institute, American Psychoanalytic Association, and Southern Psychiatric Society in the following capacities: Delegate to TMA, Secretary/Treasure of Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians, Legislative Representative to American Psychiatric Association, past president of the North Texas Society of Psychiatry Physicians. Currently, Dr. Secrest serves as Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry at Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas and is an Associate Professor. Dr. Secrest actively teaches students at PHD and candidates at Dallas Psychoanalytic Institute. He supervises clinical rotations, gives lectures and focuses his supervision on psychoanalytic psychotherapy.


Unlisted - College or Universi (1964)
Central South Univ, Xiang-Ya S (1964)
Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1968)

Research Interest

  • Addiction psychiatry
  • Adult psychiatry
  • Psychoanalysis

Honors & Awards

  • President of Medical Staff, Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas
  • Texas Health Resource Physician Volunteer of Year