Jenna Jewell is from Durango Colorado, where she received a B.S. in Chemistry and a B.A. in Political Science from Fort Lewis College. Jenna obtained her Ph.D. in 2010 from Indiana University, Indianapolis, IN. Her graduate work in Dr. Debbie Thurmond's lab focused on understanding how SNARE proteins modulate glucose-stimulated insulin secretion from pancreatic β-cells and peripheral tissue glucose uptake, and how defects in these processes can result in diabetes. Jenna completed her postdoctoral work in the laboratory of Dr. Kun-Liang Guan at the University of California San Diego, La Jolla CA. During this time she was awarded fellowships from the Cancer Therapeutics Training Program and The Hartwell Foundation. In March 2015, Jenna joined the faculty at UT Southwestern as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology. She received the Cancer Prevention & Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) Recruitment of First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty Member award. Her current work is focused on how the mechanistic target of rapamycin complex 1 (mTORC1) senses nutrients, such as amino acids, to control cell growth and metabolism.


Fort Lewis College (2004), Political Science
Fort Lewis College (2004), Chemistry
Graduate School
Indiana Univ Indianapolis Purd (2010), Molecular Biology
Graduate School
Indiana Univ Indianapolis Purd (2010), Biochemistry

Research Interest

  • Cancer Biology
  • CRISPR Genome Editing
  • Mechanistic Target of Rapamycin
  • Metabolism
  • Nutrient Sensing
  • Signal Transduction


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

NLK phosphorylates Raptor to mediate stress-induced mTORC1 inhibition.
Yuan HX, Wang Z, Yu FX, Li F, Russell RC, Jewell JL, Guan KL Genes Dev. 2015 Nov 29 22 2362-76
Micro(RNA) Managing by mTORC1.
Jewell JL, Flores F, Guan KL Mol. Cell 2015 Feb 57 4 575-6
Rag GTPases are cardioprotective by regulating lysosomal function.
Kim YC, Park HW, Sciarretta S, Mo JS, Jewell JL, Russell RC, Wu X, Sadoshima J, Guan KL Nat Commun 2014 5 4241
Protein kinase A activates the Hippo pathway to modulate cell proliferation and differentiation.
Yu FX, Zhang Y, Park HW, Jewell JL, Chen Q, Deng Y, Pan D, Taylor SS, Lai ZC, Guan KL Genes Dev. 2013 Jun 27 11 1223-32
Regulation of the Hippo-YAP pathway by G-protein-coupled receptor signaling.
Yu FX, Zhao B, Panupinthu N, Jewell JL, Lian I, Wang LH, Zhao J, Yuan H, Tumaneng K, Li H, Fu XD, Mills GB, Guan KL Cell 2012 Aug 150 4 780-91
Munc18c phosphorylation by the insulin receptor links cell signaling directly to SNARE exocytosis.
Jewell JL, Oh E, Ramalingam L, Kalwat MA, Tagliabracci VS, Tackett L, Elmendorf JS, Thurmond DC J. Cell Biol. 2011 Apr 193 1 185-99
Exocytosis mechanisms underlying insulin release and glucose uptake: conserved roles for Munc18c and syntaxin 4.
Jewell JL, Oh E, Thurmond DC Am. J. Physiol. Regul. Integr. Comp. Physiol. 2010 Mar 298 3 R517-31


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Honors & Awards

  • President's Research Council Distinguished Researcher Award
  • Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) High-Impact/High-Risk Research Award
  • Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) Scholar Recruitment of First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty Member
  • The Hartwell Foundation Fellowship
  • Cancer Therapeutics Training Fellowship
  • American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Center for Regenerative Science and Medicine (CRSM) (2017)
  • American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) (2016)
  • Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center (2016)