Orson Moe, M.D., is a Professor and Director in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and a member of the Division of Nephrology. He is the Director of the Charles and Jane Pak Center of Mineral Metabolism and Clinical Research and the holder of the Charles and Jane Pak Chair in Mineral Metabolism Research and the Donald Seldin Professorship in Clinical Investigation.

Dr. Moe received his medical degree from the University of Toronto. He completed internal medicine residency training and a fellowship in nephrology at St. Michael's hospital, and finished his fellowship training at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

In addition to editing Current Opinions of Nephrology and Hypertension, Dr. Moe also serves on the editorial board of the American Journal of Physiology, Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, and Initial Review Group at the National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review. Dr. Moe is currently a member of the American Society of Clinical Research, American Association of Physicians, American Society of Nephrology, American Physiologic Society, and Biophysical Society.


Medical School
University of Toronto (1982)
St. Michael's Hospital (1983), Medical/surgical
St. Michael's Hospital (1986), Internal Medicine
St. Michael's Hospital (1987), Nephrology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1990), Nephrology

Research Interest

  • Epithelial Biology
  • Ion Transport
  • Metabolism


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Honors & Awards

  • Jack Coburn Award and Lectureship in Mineral Research
    American Society of Nephrology (2013)
  • Outstanding Freshman Teacher
    1st yr medical students (2011)
  • Outstanding Freshman Teacher
    1st yr medical students (2006)
  • National Kidney Foundation of Canada
    Recipient of Research Fellowship (1987)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Associate of Physicians (2007)
  • American Physiologic Society (1990)
  • American Society of Clinical Investigation (2001)
  • American Society of Nephrology (1986)
  • National Kidney Foundation
  • Royal College of Physicians of Canada (1986)