Download Curriculum Vitae

Helen H. Hobbs, M.D., is an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and a Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular Genetics at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Dr. Hobbs obtained her undergraduate degree from Stanford University prior to attending Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. After completing an internship in internal medicine at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center, she moved to Dallas, Texas, where she finished her clinical training and served as chief resident in internal medicine at Parkland Memorial Hospital. She worked as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Drs. Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein before joining the faculty of UT Southwestern in 1987.

She is Director of the McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development, which serves as the Center for Human Genetics at UT Southwestern. She established the Dallas Heart Study, a longitudinal, multiethnic, population-based study of Dallas County, which is now supported by the Hoffman Family Center in Genetics and Epidemiology, and by the National Center for Advancing Translational Science (NCATS).

Her work focuses on defining the genetic determinants of plasma lipid levels and cardiovascular risk. Most recently, she has identified genetic variations that confer susceptibility to fatty liver disease.


Medical School
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine (1979)
Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center (1980), Internal Medicine
Parkland Health & Hospital System (1983), Internal Medicine
Parkland Health & Hospital System (1986), Endocrinology & Metabolism

Research Interest

  • Genetics and Pathogenesis of fatty liver disease
  • LDL Metabolism
  • Triglyceride trafficking and metabolism


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Honors & Awards

  • Anitschkow Prize
  • Gerald D. Auerbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research
  • Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters Degree, Johns Hopkins University
  • Honorary Doctor of Science Degree, Ichan School of Medicine Mount Sinai
  • Foundation Lefoulon-Delalande Grand Prix Award
  • Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine
  • Passano Award (with Jonathan Cohen)
  • Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences
  • Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, Rockefeller University
  • Pasarow Foundation Award in Cardiovascular Research
  • International Atherosclerosis Society Prize
  • American Heart Association Distinguished Scientist Award
  • National Academy of Sciences, 2007
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Heinrich Wieland Prize
  • Institute of Medicine
  • The Association of American Physicians
  • American Society of Clinical Investigation

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Society of Clinical Investigation
  • American Society of Human Genetics
  • Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Disease Council of the American Heart Association
  • The Association of American Physicians