Graduate School
Technical University of Munich (1971), Physics
Graduate School
Technical University of Munich (1974), Experimental Physics


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Crystal structures of mitochondrial processing peptidase reveal the mode for specific cleavage of import signal sequences.
Taylor AB, Smith BS, Kitada S, Kojima K, Miyaura H, Otwinowski Z, Ito A, Deisenhofer J Structure 2001 Jul 9 7 615-25
Structural mechanism for statin inhibition of HMG-CoA reductase.
Istvan ES, Deisenhofer J Science 2001 May 292 5519 1160-4
Conformational stabilization and crystallization of the SecA translocation ATPase from Bacillus subtilis.
Weinkauf S, Hunt JF, Scheuring J, Henry L, Fak J, Oliver DB, Deisenhofer J Acta Crystallogr. D Biol. Crystallogr. 2001 Apr 57 Pt 4 559-65
The structure of the catalytic portion of human HMG-CoA reductase.
Istvan ES, Deisenhofer J Biochim. Biophys. Acta 2000 Dec 1529 1-3 9-18
DNA photolyases and cryptochromes.
Deisenhofer J Mutat. Res. 2000 Aug 460 3-4 143-9
Crystal structure of the catalytic portion of human HMG-CoA reductase: insights into regulation of activity and catalysis.
Istvan ES, Palnitkar M, Buchanan SK, Deisenhofer J EMBO J. 2000 Mar 19 5 819-30
Crystal structure of Rab geranylgeranyltransferase at 2.0 A resolution.
Zhang H, Seabra MC, Deisenhofer J Structure 2000 Mar 8 3 241-51
Crystal structure of the DNA nucleotide excision repair enzyme UvrB from Thermus thermophilus.
Machius M, Henry L, Palnitkar M, Deisenhofer J Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 1999 Oct 96 21 11717-22
The structure of the ligand-binding domain of neurexin Ibeta: regulation of LNS domain function by alternative splicing.
Rudenko G, Nguyen T, Chelliah Y, S├╝dhof TC, Deisenhofer J Cell 1999 Oct 99 1 93-101
Structural basis of multifunctional bovine mitochondrial cytochrome bc1 complex.
Yu CA, Tian H, Zhang L, Deng KP, Shenoy SK, Yu L, Xia D, Kim H, Deisenhofer J J. Bioenerg. Biomembr. 1999 Jun 31 3 191-9

Honors & Awards

  • Nobel Prize in Chemistry
    (shared with R. Huber and H. Michel) (1988)
  • Otto-Bayer-Preis
    (shared with H. Michel) (1988)
  • Biological Physics Prize of the American Physical Society
    (shared with H. Michel) (1986)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Academia Europaea (1989)
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (Fellow 1992)
  • American Crystallographic Association
  • German Academy of Natural Scientists Leopoldina (2003)
  • National Academy of Sciences (1997)