Graduate School
Technical University of Munich (1971), Physics
Graduate School
Technical University of Munich (1974), Experimental Physics


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Ping-pong cross-validation in real space: a method for increasing the phasing power of a partial model without risk of model bias.
Hunt JF, Deisenhofer J Acta Crystallogr. D Biol. Crystallogr. 2003 Feb 59 Pt 2 214-24
Structure of the LDL receptor extracellular domain at endosomal pH.
Rudenko G, Henry L, Henderson K, Ichtchenko K, Brown MS, Goldstein JL, Deisenhofer J Science 2002 Dec 298 5602 2353-8
Structure of factor-inhibiting hypoxia-inducible factor 1: An asparaginyl hydroxylase involved in the hypoxic response pathway.
Dann CE, Bruick RK, Deisenhofer J Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 2002 Nov 99 24 15351-6
TonB-dependent receptors-structural perspectives.
Ferguson AD, Deisenhofer J Biochim. Biophys. Acta 2002 Oct 1565 2 318-32
Nucleotide control of interdomain interactions in the conformational reaction cycle of SecA.
Hunt JF, Weinkauf S, Henry L, Fak JJ, McNicholas P, Oliver DB, Deisenhofer J Science 2002 Sep 297 5589 2018-26
Bipartite gating in the outer membrane protein FecA.
van der Helm D, Chakraborty R, Ferguson AD, Smith BS, Esser L, Deisenhofer J Biochem. Soc. Trans. 2002 Aug 30 4 708-10
Structural basis of gating by the outer membrane transporter FecA.
Ferguson AD, Chakraborty R, Smith BS, Esser L, van der Helm D, Deisenhofer J Science 2002 Mar 295 5560 1715-9
APC2 Cullin protein and APC11 RING protein comprise the minimal ubiquitin ligase module of the anaphase-promoting complex.
Tang Z, Li B, Bharadwaj R, Zhu H, Ozkan E, Hakala K, Deisenhofer J, Yu H Mol. Biol. Cell 2001 Dec 12 12 3839-51
The plug domain of FepA, a TonB-dependent transport protein from Escherichia coli, binds its siderophore in the absence of the transmembrane barrel domain.
Usher KC, Ozkan E, Gardner KH, Deisenhofer J Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 2001 Sep 98 19 10676-81
Crystal structure of a T cell receptor Valpha11 (AV11S5) domain: new canonical forms for the first and second complementarity determining regions.
Machius M, Cianga P, Deisenhofer J, Ward ES J. Mol. Biol. 2001 Jul 310 4 689-98

Honors & Awards

  • Nobel Prize in Chemistry
    (shared with R. Huber and H. Michel) (1988)
  • Otto-Bayer-Preis
    (shared with H. Michel) (1988)
  • Biological Physics Prize of the American Physical Society
    (shared with H. Michel) (1986)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Academia Europaea (1989)
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (Fellow 1992)
  • American Crystallographic Association
  • German Academy of Natural Scientists Leopoldina (2003)
  • National Academy of Sciences (1997)