Kartavya Sharm, M.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology and the Department of Neurological Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center. 

After attending medical school at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India, he completed  residency in neurology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, followed by fellowship training in neurocritical care at Johns Hopkins University.

Dr.Sharma is certified in neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, and in neurocritical care by the United Council of Neurological Subspecialties. Prior to his joining the UT Southwestern faculty in 2020, he served as Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

He serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Neuroimaging and is a member of several professional organizations, including the American Academy of Neurology, Neurocritical Care Society and the American Society of Neuroimaging.

Dr. Sharma has published several clinical and basic science papers along with two book chapters on mechanisms and predictors of recovery after severe neurological injury. Additional he has served as site-investigator for multiple industry-sponsored clinical trials in stroke, subarachnoid hemorrhage and intracerebral hemorrhage. His research interest is in prognostication of outcome after severe brain injury. He is currently conducting research into imaging, electrophysiological and biomarker predictors of outcome after anoxic brain injury and traumatic brain injury.


Medical School
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India (2008)
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2014), Neurology
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (2016), Neurocritical Care

Research Interest

  • Anoxic brain injury
  • Intracerebral hemorrhage
  • Ischemic stroke
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Status epilepticus
  • Subarachnoid hemorrhage
  • Traumatic brain injury


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

CE: Hypertensive Emergencies: A Review.
Sharma K, Mathews EP, Newton F, Am J Nurs 2021 Oct 121 10 24-35
Serum Neuron-Specific-Enolase Thresholds for Predicting Postcardiac Arrest Outcome: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.
Sharma K, John M, Zhang S, Gronseth G, Neurology 2021 Oct
Cryptococcal Meningoencephalitis During Convalescence From Severe COVID-19 Pneumonia
Dharani Rohit Thota, Bappaditya Ray, Mirza Hasan, Kartavya Sharma The Neurohospitalist 2021 May 3
Hematologic Predictors of Endovascular Retreatment for Recurrent Vasospasm in Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage
Weston Gordon, Brenton Massey, Adam Ranellone, Sanjeev Keshary, Kartavya Sharma and Michael Abraham J Neurol Neurosci 2020 11 4 326
Post-operative HSV-2 Encephalitis Following Temporal Lobe Resection for Glioblastoma Multiforme (P4. 9-039)
Prompan Mingbunjerdsuk, Kartavya Sharma, Kathrin Husmann, Sherri A. Braksick Neurology 2019 92 (15 Supplement)
Abstract TP549: Lymphocyte Count Predicts Poor Clinical Outcome in Patients With Vasospasm Following Subarachnoid Hemorrhage
Weston Gordon , Brenton Massey , Kartavya Sharma , Michael Abraham Stroke 2019 50 (Suppl 1) ATP549
Hemoglobin concentration does not impact 3-month outcome following acute ischemic stroke.
Sharma K, Johnson DJ, Johnson B, Frank SM, Stevens RD, BMC Neurol 2018 Jun 18 1 78
Determinants of prognosis in neurocatastrophes.
Sharma K, Stevens RD Handb Clin Neurol 2017 140 379-395
Predictive Modeling in Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.
Stevens RD, Sharma K Crit. Care Med. 2016 Aug 44 8 1613-4
Delayed onset paraparesis complicating epidural steroid injection with underlying spinal dural arteriovenous fistula.
Sharma K, Sharma VD Pain Manag 2016 Jul


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Astrogliosis and Axonal Regeneration. In Neural Regneration, 1st ed.

Kartavya Sharma, Shuxin Li (2015). Academic Press

Determinants of Prognosis in Neurocatastrophes. In Handbook of Clinical Neurology, Vol 140

Kartavya Sharma, Robert Stevens (2017). Elsevier

Honors & Awards

  • Teva Neuroscience Award, 1st prize
    For demonstration of superior neurological knowledge as a resident (2012)
  • D.C.Bhutani Medal
    Best medial student in Ophthalmology (2008)
  • KVPY research fellowship
    Scholarship award for promising research by a medical student (2004-2006)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Neurology (2010)
  • American Society of Neuroimaging (2017)
  • Neurocritical Care Society (2014)