David Greenberg, M.D., is a Professor and Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, and a member of its Division of Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine. He specializes in transplant infectious diseases, antibiotic-resistant infections, and immunocompromised patients.

Originally from Houston, Texas, Dr. Greenberg holds a bachelor's degree in public health from The Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. He earned his medical degree and completed a residency in internal medicine at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He then received advanced training in infectious diseases through a fellowship at the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases in Bethesda, Maryland.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in infectious diseases, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2010.

Dr. Greenberg’s research focuses on the development of novel antibacterial therapeutics for multidrug-resistant bacteria. His lab uses peptide-conjugated phosphorodiamidate morpholino oligomers (PPMOs) to block mRNA and prevent translation of target genes. He has received significant grant support for his research, and he holds several patents related to the technology involved.

At UT Southwestern, Dr. Greenberg serves the Director of Microbial Genomics in the Infectious Diseases Division and focuses on utilizing whole-genome sequencing to predict antibiotic resistance. In addition, he co-chairs UTSW’s Biorepository Stewardship Committee and is the Faculty Advisor for the Infectious Diseases Interest Group. He directs several courses for medical students, including one titled Emerging Infectious Diseases and the Microbiome.

Dr. Greenberg has received numerous teaching awards from UT Southwestern. In 2014, he was awarded the Regents’ Outstanding Teacher Award, and in 2020 he was inducted into the Kenneth Shine Academy, the premier health science education academy in the University of Texas system.

He is an active member of the American Society for Microbiology and serves on the Infectious Diseases Society of America’s Antimicrobial Resistance Committee.


Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (1995)
Medical School
Baylor College of Medicine (1999)
Baylor College of Medicine (2002), Internal Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine (2003), Internal Medicine
National Institutes of Health (2006), Infectious Diseases

Research Interest

  • Acinetobacter baumannii
  • Antimicrobial development
  • Burkholderia cepacia complex
  • Gram-negative Bacterial Infections
  • Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Cefiderocol Retains Antibiofilm Activity in Multidrug-Resistant Gram-Negative Pathogens.
Pybus CA, Felder-Scott C, Obuekwe V, Greenberg DE, Antimicrob Agents Chemother 2021 Jan 65 2
Discovery and characterization of New Delhi metallo-?-lactamase-1 inhibitor peptides that potentiate meropenem-dependent killing of carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae.
Kazi MI, Perry BW, Card DC, Schargel RD, Ali HB, Obuekwe VC, Sapkota M, Kang KN, Pellegrino MW, Greenberg DE, Castoe TA, Boll JM, J Antimicrob Chemother 2020 Oct 75 10 2843-2851

Honors & Awards

  • Kenneth I. Shine, M.D. Academy of Health Science Education
    University of Texas System (2020)
  • Regents' Outstanding Teacher Award
    University of Texas System (2014)
  • Southwestern Association of Teachers
    UT Southwestern (2014)
  • Excellence in Education Award
    UT Southwestern (2013)
  • Excellence in Education Award
    UT Southwestern (2012)
  • Excellence in Education Award
    UT Southwestern (2011)
  • Director's Award
    National Institutes of Health (2007)
  • Fellows Award for Research Excellence
    National Institutes of Health (2006)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Society for Microbiology
  • Infectious Diseases Society of America
  • Society for Leukocyte Biology