In addition to serving as Vice Chairman, Dr. Cruz directs the Dermatology Residency Training Program at UT Southwestern. He also serves as Chief of Dermatology at the Dallas VA Medical Center. He directs the Photosensitivity/Phototesting Clinic and the Occupational Skin Disease and Contact Allergy Clinic at UT Southwestern. Dr. Cruz is the recipient of numerous awards and grants for research and teaching, including the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) Excellence in Education Award; NIH research grants; Animal Alternatives Research funding from Procter & Gamble; the Stelwagon Award given by the AAD; and the first Fitzpatrick Research Award given by the Kao Corporation of Japan; gold, silver and bronze awards for teaching posters from the AAD; and the 1989 Outstanding Research Award from the Upjohn Company and the Department of Dermatology at UT Southwestern.


Medical School
University of the East (1979)
Makati Medical Center (1980), Rotating
Kettering Medical Center (1984), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1986), Dermatology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1987), Immunodermatology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1989), Dermatology


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Acanthosis nigricans
Kia K, Cruz PD Jr. Treatment of Skin Disease 2009 3rd Edition, in press
Recognition of non-self polysaccharides by C-type lectin receptors dectin-1 and dectin-2.
Hollmig ST, Ariizumi K, Cruz PD Jr. Glycobiology 2009 19/6 568-575
The DC-HIL/syndecan-4 pathway inhibits human allogeneic T cell responses
Chung J-S, Bonkobara M, Tomihari M, Cruz PD Jr., Ariizumi K. Eur J Immunol 2009 in press
Phototherapy and HIV Infection
McDonald H, Cruz PD Jr. Dermatological Phototherapy and Photodiagnostic Methods 2008 2nd Edition 229-37
Syndecan-4 mediates the co-inhibitory function of DC-HIL on T cell activation.
Chung J-S, Dougherty I, Cruz PD Jr., Ariizumi K. J Immunol 2007 179 5778-84

Honors & Awards

  • Excellence in Education Award
    American Academy of Dermatology (1992)
  • Fitzpatrick Research Award
    Kao Corporation of Japan (1991)
  • Teacher of the Year
    Voted by Derm Residents at UT Southwestern (1991)
  • Outstanding Research Award
    Upjohn Company (1988)
  • Stelwagon Award
    American Academy of Dermatology (1988)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Dermatology
  • American Board of Dermatology
  • American Contact Dermatitis Society
  • American Dermatological Association
  • Society for Investigative Dermatology