Dr. Dennis Burns received his undergraduate degree from Baylor University and completed medical school, residency training and fellowship training at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Since joining the faculty in 1984, he has divided his time between undergraduate and graduate medical education, collaborative research with multiple UT Southwestern laboratories and clinical neuropathology, with special emphasis on neuromuscular pathology. He has received multiple teaching awards for his work in medical education, and in 2016 was the recipient of a University of Texas Regents' Outstanding Teacher Award and a Minnie Stevens Piper Professorship. He is certified by the American Board of Pathology in Anatomic Pathology, Clinical Pathology and Neuropathology.

In his time away from work, Dr. Burns is an avid fly fisherman, fly tyer and student of history, and cherishes time with his family.


Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical School (1978)
Parkland Memorial Hospital (1978), Internal Medicine
Parkland Memorial Hospital (1979), Internal Medicine
Parkland Memorial Hospital (1983), Anatomic & Clinical Pathology
Parkland Memorial Hospital (1985), Neuropathology

Research Interest

  • Medical Education
  • Neuromuscular pathology


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Cell of Origin Susceptibility to Glioblastoma Formation Declines with Neural Lineage Restriction
Alcantara Llaguno S, Sun D, Pedraza A, Vera E, Wang Z, Burns DK, Parada LF Nat Neurosci 2019 22 4 545-555
Distinct expression patterns of carbonic anhydrase IX in clear cell, microcystic and angiomatous meningiomas
Chkheidze R, Cimino PJ, Hatanpaa KJ, White CL, Ferreira M, Piccirillo SGM, Li L, Rajaram S, Nyagilo JO, Burns DK, Raisanen JM, Cai C J Neuropathol Exp Neurol 2019 78 12 1088-1081
BRAF mutation leading to central nervous system Rosai-Dorfman disease.
Richardson TE, Wachsmann M, Oliver D, Abedin Z, Ye D, Burns DK, Raisanen JM, Greenberg BM, Hatanpaa KJ Ann. Neurol. 2018 Jul
Aggressive Behavior in Silent Subtype III Pituitary Adenomas May Depend on Suppression of Local Immune Response: A Whole Transcriptome Analysis.
Richardson TE, Shen ZJ, Kanchwala M, Xing C, Filatenkov A, Shang P, Barnett S, Abedin Z, Malter JS, Raisanen JM, Burns DK, White CL, Hatanpaa KJ J. Neuropathol. Exp. Neurol. 2017 Oct 76 10 874-882
Clinical Outcome of Silent Subtype III Pituitary Adenomas Diagnosed by Immunohistochemistry.
Richardson TE, Mathis DA, Mickey BE, Raisanen JM, Burns DK, White CL, Hatanpaa KJ J. Neuropathol. Exp. Neurol. 2015 Dec 74 12 1170-7
Adult Lineage-Restricted CNS Progenitors Specify Distinct Glioblastoma Subtypes.
Alcantara Llaguno SR, Wang Z, Sun D, Chen J, Xu J, Kim E, Hatanpaa KJ, Raisanen JM, Burns DK, Johnson JE, Parada LF Cancer Cell 2015 Oct 28 4 429-40
Induction of abnormal proliferation by non-myelinating Schwann cells triggers neurofibroma formation
Zheng H, Chang L, Patel N, Yang J, Lowe L, Burns DK, Zhu Y Cancer Cell 2008 13 117-128
Pten haploinsufficiency accelerates formation of high grade astrocytomas
Kwon C-H, Alcantara S, Zhao D, Chen J, Li Y, Burns DK, Mason R, Lee EY-HP, Wu H, Parada LF Cancer Research 2008 68 3286-3294
Early inactivation of p53 tumor suppressor gene cooperating with NF1 loss induces malignant astrocytoma.
Zhu Y, Guignard F, Zhao D, Liu L, Burns DK, Mason RP, Messing A, Parada LF Cancer Cell 2005 8 119-130


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Pathology: The Big Picture

Kemp WL, Burns DK, Brown TG (2008). New York, Lange McGraw Hill

Honors & Awards

  • Texas Super Doctors Hall of Fame
  • Minnie Stevens Piper Professor
  • University of Texas Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award
  • Texas Super Doctors
  • UT Southwestern Medical School Academic Marshal
  • Best Doctors in America
  • Pre-Clinical Distinguished Educator Award
  • Alpha Omega Alpha
  • State of Texas Merit Scholarship
  • Robert A. Welch Foundation Merit Scholarship
  • Medical Student Faculty Teaching Awards (1984, 1985, 1994, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2014, 2016, 2017)
  • Vernie A. Stembridge Faculty Teaching Award (1993, 2015)