An Lu, M.D., is an Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and a member of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine. She focuses on hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia at the UT Southwestern HHT Center of Excellence.

As a first-generation college graduate and physician, I'm interested in mentoring and educating medical students, especially minority and economically disadvantaged students, to promote higher education and success in medicine

Originally from Vietnam, Dr. Lu holds a bachelor's degree in biology from the University of Texas at Arlington, where she graduated summa cum laude. She received her medical degree at UT Southwestern, where she also completed a residency in internal medicine and gained advanced training through a fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in pulmonary disease, Dr. Lu joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2022.

Dr. Lu is a member of the American College of Chest Physicians and the American Thoracic Society.

Dr. Lu has delivered several presentations and contributed to research projects studying hypersensitivity pneumonitis, sepsis, and septic shock.

In 2016, she received UT Southwestern’s Dr. Richard Mays Smith Award in Internal Medicine, which is bestowed annually to a graduating medical student who excels academically during clinical rotations and exhibits an interest in and compassion for patients.


Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical School (2016)
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2019), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2022), Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Honors & Awards

  • Doctor Richard Mays Smith Award in Internal Medicine
    UT Southwestern (2016)
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Society
    UT Southwestern (2015)
  • Southwestern Medical Foundation Scholarship
    UT Southwestern (2015)
  • STEM Scholar
    National Science Foundation (2008-2010)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American College of Chest Physicians
  • American Thoracic Society