Download Curriculum Vitae

I have experience in both basic and clinical neuroscience research. My graduate and postdoctoral work focused on the role of endoplasmic reticulum ryanodine receptors in the dysregulation of intraneuronal calcium handling and the mechanisms by which this dysregulation was responsible for disease progression. In 2009 I joined UT Southwestern as a postdoctoral fellow in Ilya Bezprozvanny's laboratory in the Department of Physiology. After three years of postdoctoral training, my career took a leap and I joined Children’s Medical Center (now Children's Health) as a Clinical Research Coordinator with the Perot Brain and Nerve Injury Center in 2012. There I obtained my training in clinical research and was able to experience first-hand how research impacts the lives of patients. These experiences with basic and clinical research have given me a unique perspective on the genuine gaps between the bench and bedside, and the ability to recognize opportunity in the challenges.

My passion for assisting researchers with the development of their research and programs allowed me to serve as a Scientific Research Writer for the Department of Neurology and Neuortherapeutics in 2013, where I assisted with grants and manuscripts. As the Director of the Neuroscience Research Development (NeRD) Office in the Neuroscience Translational Research Center (NTRC) from 2015-2020, my team was responsible for the submission of ~100 grants/year, with a funding rate of 21%. This position afforded me the opportunity to interact with researchers from a variety of disciplines and garner knowledge into the breadth of science being conducted at UT Southwestern. I have been responsible for nurturing collaborations and overseeing the growth of several important institutional initiatives, including the Texas Institute for Brain Injury and Repair and the re-organization of the Cognition and Memory Center (CMC) in collaboration with Marc Diamond, M.D., Director of the Center for Alzheimer's and Neurodegenerative Diseases and Brendan Kelley, M.D. of the Cognitive and Memory Disorders Division.

My goal as CMC Assistant Director of Research is to help drive our collective efforts across expertise in neurology, neuroscience, biochemistry, neuropsychology, bioinformatics, neuroradiology and neuropathology to link mechanisms of Alzheimer’s and neurodegenerative diseases with clinical presentation and expedite the discovery of new therapies for patients. 


University of Manitoba (1999), Science
Graduate School
Uni of Prince Edward Island (2010), Biomedical Sciences

Research Interest

  • Alzheimer's disease, dementia, neurodegeneration


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Secondary intracranial hypertension (pseudotumor cerebri) presenting as post-traumatic headache in mild traumatic brain injury: a case series.
Sabo T, Supnet C, Purkayastha S Childs Nerv Syst 2017 Dec
High Variance in Pupillary Examination Findings Among Postanesthesia Care Unit Nurses.
Omburo L, Stutzman S, Supnet C, Choate M, Olson DM J. Perianesth. Nurs. 2017 Jun 32 3 219-224
Sleep quality, but not quantity, is associated with self-perceived minor error rates among emergency department nurses.
Weaver AL, Stutzman SE, Supnet C, Olson DM Int Emerg Nurs 2015 Sep
The role of ryanodine receptor type 3 in a mouse model of Alzheimer disease.
Liu J, Supnet C, Sun S, Zhang H, Good L, Popugaeva E, Bezprozvanny I Channels (Austin) 2014 Jan 8 3
Expanded polyglutamine-binding peptoid as a novel therapeutic agent for treatment of Huntington's disease.
Chen X, Wu J, Luo Y, Liang X, Supnet C, Kim MW, Lotz GP, Yang G, Muchowski PJ, Kodadek T, Bezprozvanny I Chem. Biol. 2011 Sep 18 9 1113-25
Presenilins function in ER calcium leak and Alzheimer's disease pathogenesis.
Supnet C, Bezprozvanny I Cell calcium 2011 Jun 303-9
Mutagenesis mapping of the presenilin 1 calcium leak conductance pore.
Nelson O, Supnet C, Tolia A, Horré K, De Strooper B, Bezprozvanny I J. Biol. Chem. 2011 Jun 286 25 22339-47
Dantrolene is neuroprotective in Huntington's disease transgenic mouse model.
Chen X, Wu J, Lvovskaya S, Herndon E, Supnet C, Bezprozvanny I Mol Neurodegener 2011 6 81
The dysregulation of intracellular calcium in Alzheimer disease.
Supnet C, Bezprozvanny I Cell Calcium 2010 Feb 47 2 183-9
Up-regulation of the type 3 ryanodine receptor is neuroprotective in the TgCRND8 mouse model of Alzheimer's disease.
Supnet C, Noonan C, Richard K, Bradley J, Mayne M J. Neurochem. 2010 Jan 112 2 356-65

Honors & Awards

  • Biomedical Doctoral Award, Alzheimer's Society of Canada
  • Doctoral Research Award, Canadian Institutes of Health Research
  • Graduate Student Award, Scottish Rite Charitable Foundation (Canada)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • New York Academy of Sciences (2017)
  • National Organization of Research Development Professionals (2015)
  • American Medical Writer's Association (2012)
  • National Postdoctoral Association (2010)
  • Society for Neuroscience (2006)