Download Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Benjamin F. Chong joined the Department of Dermatology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center as an Assistant Instructor in 2008. He received a Magna Cum Laude in Chemistry at Harvard University in 1999, and his MD degree at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 2004. He completed his internship in Internal Medicine at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan, in 2005, and his dermatology residency at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan, in 2008. He served as the chief resident from 2007-2008. His clinical interests include cutaneous lupus erythematosus, dermatomyositis, and sarcoidosis. He is the principal investigator of the University of Texas Southwestern Cutaneous Lupus Patient Registry and has his own laboratory studying the pathogenesis of cutaneous lupus erythematosus.


Medical School Johns Hopkins University (2004)
Residency Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital-Ann Arbor, MI (2005), Internal Medicine
Residency Henry Ford Hospital (2008), Dermatology
Other Post Graduate Training UT Southwestern Medical Center (2009), Dermatology
Other Post Graduate Training UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012)

Specialty Areas

Clinical Interest

  • Autoimmune Connective Tissue Disease
  • Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus
  • Cutaneous Sarcoidosis
  • Dermatomyositis
  • Psoriasis
  • Vasculitis

Research Interest

  • Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Honors & Awards

  • UTSW Department of Dermatology Teaching Award
  • Clinical Research Scholars Program
  • Dermatology Foundation Physician-Scientist Career Development Award
  • Henry Ford Hospital Outstanding Resident Award
    1st prize (2008)
  • La Roche-Posay North American Foundation Research Award
    1st prize (2006)
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute Research Scholar

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Lupus Foundation of America, North Texas Chapter (2012)
  • American College of Rheumatology (2011)
  • Medical Dermatology Society (2009)
  • Rheumatologic Dermatology Society (2009)
  • American Academy of Dermatology (2008)
  • Society of Investigative Dermatology (2008)
  • Texas Medical Association (2008)