Dr. Dalton is originally from the Dallas area. He attended medical school at UT Southwestern where he also completed residency training in Internal Medicine. After serving an additional year as Chief Resident in Internal Medicine, he went to Duke University to complete a fellowship in Geriatric Medicine with a concentration in Medical Education. He returned to UT Southwestern to help contribute to the institution’s mission of improving health care for older adults in North Texas. Dr. Dalton’s clinical interests center on building and leading interprofessional teams in order to optimize the experiences that older adults and their families have within the health care system. He is particularly interested in improving the care that older adults receive in the hospital, during the perioperative period, and during transitions between health care environments. Outside of medicine, Dr. Dalton enjoys spending time with his family, reading, following sports, and gardening.


Medical School
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2008)
Salahuddin Kazi, M.D. (2011), Internal Medicine
Other Post Graduate Training
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012), Internal Medicine
Duke University Medical Center (2014), Geriatric Medicine

Specialty Areas

Clinical Interest

  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Pre/Post Surgical Assessments
  • Primary Care
  • Research Interest

    • Acute care of older adults
    • Perioperative care of older adults

    Honors & Awards

    • 1st Place, Innovation and Learner Poster Award
      Perioperative Optimization of Senior Health, Duke Medicine Patient Safety Conference (2014)
    • Lorraine Sulkin-Schein Internal Medicine Housestaff Award in Geriatric Medicine
      UT Southwestern Internal Medicine Residency Program (2011)
    • Resident Award
      Southeast Center for Excellence in Geriatric Medicine (2010)

    Professional Associations/Affiliations

    • Society of Hospital Medicine (2014)
    • Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (2011)
    • American Geriatrics Society (2009)
    • American College of Physicians (2008)