Graduate School Baylor College of Medicine (1992)
Medical School Baylor College of Medicine (1994)
Internship Mayo Clinic (1995), Internal Medicine
Residency Mayo Clinic (1998), Neurology
Fellowship Mayo Clinic (1999), Neuroimmunology

Specialty Areas

Clinical Interest

  • Autonomic Disorders
  • Diabetic Neuropathy
  • Isaac Syndrome
  • Lambert Eaton Syndrome
  • Limbic Encephalitis
  • Myasthenia Gravis (MG)
  • Paraneoplastic Syndrome
  • Stiff Man Syndrome

Research Interest

  • Animal models of autoimmune autonomic neuropathy
  • Autonomic effects of acetylcholinesterase inhibitors
  • Disorders of neuromuscular hyperexcitability
  • Paraneoplastic neurological syndromes
  • Serologic evaluation of patients with dysautonomia


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Autoimmune Autonomic Failure. In Handbook of Clinical Neurology, Volume 117: Autonomic Nervous System

Muppidi S, Vernino S (2013). Elsevier

Honors & Awards

  • Program Director Recognition Award
    American Academy of Neurology (CNPD) (2013)
  • Best Doctors
    D Magazine (2012-2014)
  • Fellow
    American Academy of Neurology (2007)
  • Fellow
    American Neurological Association (2005)
  • Founders Award for Clinical Research
    American Academy of Neurology (1998)
  • Woltman Award for Clinical Neurology
    Mayo Clinic (1998)
  • DeBakey Scholar Award
    Baylor College of Medicine (1994)
  • Rush Record Excellence in Neuroscience Award
    Baylor College of Medicine (1992)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Multiple System Atrophy (MSA) Coalition (2013)
  • Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America (2007)
  • American Academy of Neurology
  • American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine
  • American Autonomic Society
  • American Neurological Association
  • Society for Neuroscience