Download Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Thiru Annaswamy is an associate professor with the Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas and a full-time staff physician at the VA Medical Center in Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation. He has been on faculty at UTSWMC since 1999.  He received his medical degree at Mysore Medical College, Mysore, India in 1992 and Master’s degree in Kinesiology, motor control and biomechanics from the University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas in 1994. He received his post-graduate medical training in PM&R at Harvard Medical School/Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital in Boston, MA in 1999.


His clinical interests are in the evaluation and management of spine disorders, musculoskeletal disorders and diseases of the muscles & nerves.  He is board certified in Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and subspecialty certified in Neuromuscular Medicine, Electrodiagnostic Medicine and Pain Medicine. His research interests are in electrophysiological and musculoskeletal research and clinical outcomes research, virtual reality based simulation of injection procedures, virtual reality applications in rehabilitation and gait and movement analysis.  His honors include Chief resident, best resident research award @ Harvard Med School, New Investigator award by Kessler Rehab Foundation @ AAPMR national meeting (1998). He has presented in national conferences, university grand rounds, and other local & regional institutions. He has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals, and has book-chapter author credits as well. He has also appeared on local TV on Healthwatch segment in the NBC nightly news.


Medical School
Mysore Medical College (1992)
Lemuel Shattuck Hospital (1996), Transitional Year
Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital (1999), Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Research Interest

  • Diagnostic testing in chronic back pain
  • Electrodiagnosis in Carpal Tunnel Syndrome: Predictive Ability, Correlation with Outcomes and Impact
  • Electrodiagnostic testing and outcomes
  • Long Term Outcomes of Lumbar Epidural Steroid Injections for Spinal Stenosis (LESSER); PCORI Funded
  • NetSE: Large: Collaborative Research: Exploiting Multi-modality for Tele-Immersion (Funded by National Science Foundation-NSF); Co-PI
  • Virtual reality based computer simulation of epidural procedures
  • Visco-elastic supplementation for lumbar z-joint arthropathy


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Role of Electrodiagnosis in Patients Being Considered for Epidural Steroid Injections.
Annaswamy TM, Bierner SM, Avraham R PM R 2013 Mar
Atypical presentations of common peroneal neuropathy.
Annaswamy TM, Li HY PM R 2012 Jun 4 6 462-5
Effect of lidocaine iontophoresis on pain during needle electromyography.
Annaswamy TM, Morchower AH Am J Phys Med Rehabil 2011 Dec 90 12 961-8
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). AAPM&R Case of the Month, EMG Case #102
Ochani P, Annaswamy T. AAPMR academe (electronic publication) March 2010
Interrater Reliability of Needle Electromyographic Findings in Lumbar Radiculopathy
Chouteau WL, Annaswamy TM, Bierner SM, Elliott AC, Figueroa I. American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation 2010 89(7) 561-69


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Biomechanical correlates of movement: principles of gait. In Exercise in rehabilitation medicine

Kerrigan DC and Annaswamy TM (1999). Chicago, IL, Human Kinetics

Honors & Awards

  • AAP Excellence in Research Writing Award
    Best Paper Winner In-Training Category awarded to first author-Whitney Chouteau; I was her faculty mentor (2011)
  • Best Abstract Runner-Up Award Winner. 2010 American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine 57th Annual Meeting
    Best Abstract Runner-Up Award Winner. Annaswamy TM and Morchower A. Effect of Lidocaine Iontophoresis on Pain during Needle Electromyography. Paper Presentation. Muscle & Nerve. 42:4; p656-7. October 2010. (2010)
  • Teaching Attending of the Year
    Award given to one of 2 best attending physicians based on residents' vote (2008)
  • Teaching Attending of the Year
    Award given to one of 2 best attending physicians based on residents' vote (2007)
  • Teaching Attending of the Year
    Award given to one of 2 best attending physicians based on residents' vote (2006)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • International Spinal Intervention Society (ISIS) (2002)
  • American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM) (2001)
  • North American Spine Society (NASS) (2001)
  • American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (AAPMR) (1996)
  • Association of Academic Physiatrists (AAP) (1996)