Biography for Dr. Bert Vargas

Bert Vargas, M.D., is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics at UT Southwestern and the Director of UTSW’s Sports Neurology and Concussion Program and the Sports Neurology Fellowship Program.

He earned his undergraduate degree in molecular and cellular biology at the University of Arizona and his medical degree from the University of Arizona College of Medicine. He completed an internal medicine internship at Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center in Phoenix and then served in the United States Air Force as a flight surgeon.

While on active duty, Dr. Vargas was deployed numerous times in support of Operations Northern Watch, Enduring Freedom, and Iraqi Freedom.

After concluding his service, Dr. Vargas performed a residency in neurology at New York University and then received advanced training in headache medicine through a fellowship at the Mayo Clinic in Arizona.

He spent six years on faculty with the Mayo Clinic before joining UT Southwestern in 2015.

Dr. Vargas’s research interests include telemedicine, including teleconcussion, which is the ability to remotely provide concussion evaluation and care to patients who don’t have access to a specialist. He is also interested in new treatments for post-traumatic headache.

Board certified in Neurology by the American Board of Psychology and Neurology and in Headache Medicine by the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties, Dr. Vargas is also a Fellow of the American Headache Society.

He is on the Board of Directors of the American Headache Society and the Headache Cooperative of the Pacific. He serves as Chair of the American Headache Society Post-traumatic Headache Special Interest Section and the Digital Strategy Subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology.

Professional Associations & Affiliations

  • Arizona Concussion Coalition (2013-2015)
  • Headache Cooperative of the Pacific (2012)
  • American Headache Society (2006)
  • International Headache Society (2006)
  • American Academy of Neurology (2005)
  • Arizona Medical Association (1997-2015)

Honors and Awards

  • American Academy of Neurology Emerging Leaders Forum
  • American Headache Society Above and Beyond Award for Significant Service
  • Outstanding Course Director Award; Mayo Clinic Headache Symposium
  • American Headache Society/Merck US Human Health Scholarship Award
  • University of Arizona College of Medicine Department of Community Medicine Community Scholar Award
  • United States Air Force Health Professions Scholarship Program