Dr. Jarrett is a licensed (clinical) psychologist whose research and clinical expertise is in promoting health and wellness, particularly for patients with mood and related disorders. She specializes in short-term, evidenced-based psychotherapy and focuses on cognitive behavioral therapy. In the Department of Psychiatry at UT Southwestern, Dr. Jarrett directs research, treats patients, and supervises clinical and/or research activities of trainees. Since 1989 Dr. Jarrett has directed the Psychosocial Research and Depression Clinic where the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) has funded her research group across decades. She welcomes collaborators and trainees dedicated to understanding the role of psychosocial factors in the course of health and illness, particularly in mood and related disorders.


Undergraduate School
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (1978), Psychology
Graduate School
University of North Carolina at Greensboro (1983)
University of Mississippi and VA Center Consortium (1984), Clinical Psychology

Research Interest

  • Cognitive-behavioral therapy
  • Evidence-based psychotherapy
  • Mood and related disorders
  • Psychosocial factors and interventions that promote health


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Honors & Awards

  • Fellow
    Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (2015-2017)
  • Fellow
    American Psychological Association (2014-2017)
  • Certified Consultant and Trainer
    Academy of Cognitive Therapy (2013-2017)
  • Fellow
    Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) (2006)
  • Elizabeth H. Penn Professorship in Clinical Psychology
    The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (2004-2017)
  • Fourjay Scholar
    The Fourjay Foundation, The Beck Institute, Extramural Training Program (2000)
  • Diplomate and Founding Fellow
    Academy of Cognitive Therapy (1999-2017)
  • Principal Investigator with career awards
    Funded by the National Institute of Mental Health

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Association for Psychological Science (2010-2017)
  • Editorial Board: Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology (2004-2016)
  • Dallas Psychological Association (1993-2017)
  • Reviewers Reserve [NIMH] (1990-2017)
  • Texas Psychological Association (1990-2017)
  • International Association for Cognitive Psychotherapy (1989-2017)
  • American Psychological Association (1984-2017)
  • Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapy (1978-2017)