Elliot Frohman, M.D., Ph.D.


Endowed Title: Irene Wadel and Robert I. Atha, Jr. Distinguished Chair in Neurology, in Honor of Elliot Frohman, M.D., Ph.D.; Kenney Marie Dixon-Pickens Distinguished Professorship in Multiple Sclerosis Research

Department: Neurology & Neurotherapeutics, Ophthalmology


Dr. Frohman is a Professor with tenure with the Departments of Neurology and Ophthalmology, holder of the Kenney Marie Dixon-Pickens Distinguished Professorship in Multiple Sclerosis Research and the Irene Wadel and Robert Atha Distinguished Chair in Neurology and Director of the Multiple Sclerosis Program in the Department of Neurology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Frohman was born in New York City and received his undergraduate training in biochemistry and cell biology at the University of California at San Diego and later completed the Physician Scientist Training Program for his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees at the University of California at Irvine. Dr. Frohman subsequently completed his residency and fellowship training in neurology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Hospital where he is a former Chief Resident. He is Board certified in psychiatry and neurology. Dr. Frohman has been the recipient of numerous awards and fellowships and has published over 150 peer-reviewed papers in the areas of neuroimmunology and neuro-ophthalmology. He was the author of a United States Congressional Appropriations Bill in 2001 that established a comprehensive multiple sclerosis treatment training program at the University of Texas Southwestern School of Medicine in collaboration with the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. To date this program has trained in excess of 900 physicians from all 50 states. He serves as a reviewer for numerous journals including Annals of Neurology, Neurology, Archives of Neurology, Journal of Neurological Sciences, Brain, Lancet, Journal of Neuroimmunology, NeuroImage, and Neuro-Ophthalmology. Dr. Frohman is married to Teresa Frohman (his principal research collaborator). They have four children and live in Coppell, Texas.


Graduate School University of California at Irvine (1988), Neurobiology
Medical School University of California, Irvine - College of Medicine (1990)
Internship University of Tennessee College of Medicine (1991), Internal Medicine
Residency Johns Hopkins School of Medicine (1994), Neurology
Fellowship Johns Hopkins School of Medicine (1995), Neurophysiology

Specialty Areas

Clinical Interests

  • Devic's Disease (Neuromyelitis Optica)
  • Intranuclear Ophthalmoplegia (INO)
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Neuromyelitis Optica (Devic's Disease)
  • Neurosarcoidosis
  • Optic Neuritis
  • Sarcoidosis

Research Interests

  • Multiple Sclerosis Clinical Trials
  • Neuro-Ophthalmology
  • Neuroimmunology
  • Neuroradiology of MS
  • Neurorehabilitation


Featured Publications Legend

Featured Publications

Primary retinal pathology in multiple sclerosis as detected by optical coherence tomography

Saidha, S, MRCPI; Syc, SB, Eckstein, C, et al. Brain in press

Longitudinal study of vision and retinal nerve fiber layer thickness by OCT in multiple sclerosis.

Talman, LS; Sackel, DJ, Long, D, Jr, et al. Ann Neurol 2010 67 749-760

Transverse Myelitis.

Frohman, EM, Wingerchuk, D. New Engl J Med 2010 363 564-572

A Randomized, Blinded, Parallel-Group, Pilot Trial of Mycophenolate Mofetil (Cellcept?) Compared to Interferon beta-1a (Avonex?) in Patients with Relapsing-Remitting Multiple Sclerosis.

Frohman, EM, Cutter, G, Remington, G, et al. G Ther Adv Neurol Dis 2010 3 15-28

Imaging retinal architecture in multiple sclerosis with optical coherence tomography.

Frohman, E.M., Fujimoto, J.G., Frohman, T.C., Calabresi, P.A., Cutter, G., Balcer, L. Nature Neurology 2008 4 664-675.

Results 1-10 of 10
  • 1


  • American Academy of Neurology
    National Teaching Award (AB Baker Section) (2008)
  • Hall of Fame
    National Multiple Sclerosis Society Hall of Fame Award (2006)
  • Congressional Appropriations Bill
    Authored a Congressional Bill to Establish a Natl MS Treatment Training Program (2001)
  • Teaching Award
    Medical Students Excellence in Teaching Award 2000, 2001, 2003-2005, 2008 (2000)
  • Teaching Award
    Resident Excellence in Teaching Award 1996, 1997, 2004 (1996)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Neurology
  • American Medical Association
  • American Neurological Association